• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Safe and Sound….and COLD!!

Friday turned out so much better than I could have expected. My flight home to NYC was smooth and relaxing, exactly the opposite of my flight the day before. I got back to the apartment in good time and met Lindsay for a trek to the West Side. After stopping by New York Road Runners to pick up my race number for Saturday’s 15k, we hopped on the bus across town and, before I knew it, I was blissfully wandering the aisles of Whole Foods. Oh how I love that store. I was so awe struck that I started picking up items I’ve never bought before – TVP and nutritional yeast, for starters! I also found all the items I needed, but discovering new finds was much more fun.

I spent the rest of the afternoon testing three new Happy Herbivore recipes and I’m proud to say each was a total success. I now have a new batch of biscuits, homemade rice milk and pancakes in my fridge just waiting to be snacked on!

I also got to work on a simple, but very satisfying vegetarian dinner. I made orecchiette pasta with herbed goat cheese, cherry tomatoes and kalamata olives. Everything came together in less than 15 minutes and it was so savory and satisfying.

Before we started our movie (Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist), I made one of my last batches of fudge for the season. Earlier this week, I experimented with a bag of mint chips when making a batch of fudge. The mix should have been perfect.

The marbled look of the green chips swirled with the chocolate fudge was beautiful, but they ruined the fudge. It never hardened and it was the first time I’ve had to throw out an entire batch of something I made. This time, on Lindsay’s recommendation, I used the peppermint oil I’d picked up and an all natural Hammond’s candy cane. Um, I don’t want to sound proud, but this fudge is AWESOME!!!! I used my foolproof fudge recipe and added 2 tsp. peppermint oil (not peppermint extract, I think they’re different) and one crushed candy cane. After melting the chocolate with the condensed milk, I removed the pot from the stove and stirred in the crushed candy cane and peppermint extract.

Normally I don’t like to eat too late the night before a race but I couldn’t help myself. I had three small squares of the fudge and it’s divine!

On Satuday morning, I woke up (far too early) at 6:30am for the Ted Corbitt 15k in Central Park. Since I was traveling and baking this week, I didn’t exercise much at all and I wasn’t expecting too much from the race. Mostly, I’d figured why not sign up for it since I usually do my long runs in the park on Saturdays? I suppose, though, deep down I was shooting for a 9-ish minute mile. Before I left, I had a larabar mini and layered on my clothes – tights, shorts, under armour turtleneck, long-sleeved t-shirt, fleece hat and gloves. I also grabbed a pack of Luna Moons for fuel and ran out into the pre-dawn frost.

I’d tried to time it so I’d get to the start with just a few minutes to spare but I found myself with 20 minutes to kill. Normally I wouldn’t care, but it was COLD. I stretched as much as I could, though I didn’t want to do too much since my muscles were so frozen. (Even the two-mile jog to the starting area hadn’t warmed me up much!) Luckily, the race started right on time and I was over the starting line in no time.

Even though the race was incredibly well organized, it was still super crowded for the first mile or two. My first mile was 9:44 so I figured my goal was pretty much out of reach. I decided I’d just push myself without going too crazy and see what happened. I got to mile 2 and time was 18:40. Hm, guess I picked up the pace a bit! By mile 3, the time was 27 minutes and suddenly I was back on track. I had a few of my Luna moons at mile 6, but they were frozen solid….blech! I was tired by mile 8, but I just committed to pushing through the rest of the race. (I also got passed by a man in a long-sleeved shirt and a THONG, so that helped.) I pushed so hard in the last .3 mile that I almost fell over when I finished, but it was worth it! Official time: 1:22:35. That’s an 8:52/mile average!

I jog/walked back to my apartment and I’ve spent my afternoon watching TV and eating (the ingredients for a perfect weekend). I had a bowl of maple oatmeal after my shower and I had red pepper corn bisque with two Happy Herbivore biscuits for lunch. A few pieces of fudge and pecans may or may not have been consumed as well…..

The snow started to fall here in NY so we opted to fuel up with comforting southern BBQ! Southern Hospitality is a cute little restaurant in our neighborhood but I was not very impressed with the food. I also was a little disappointed that there weren’t more vegetarian options. I ended up eating an appetizer of peel-your-own shrimp and vegetarian baked beans. Meh. And on top of that, by the time we finished eating, it was almost 9:30! The snow really began to come down heavy around 7:30 and we’d hoped to get to one of my favorite blogger’s holiday party, but the snow was just too much and our bellies were too full. Instead, we crashed early and I slept until almost NOON on Sunday. Check back tomorrow to see some pictures from my walk through Central Park after the snow fall and a fabulous homemade pizza!

Hope you had a wonderful weekend πŸ™‚


9 Responses

  1. Glad you made it ok!

  2. Nice job on the race!! Sounds like it was a cold but fun one. We should do another training in January before our half marathon.

    Don’t you wish we had a Whole Foods on the UES!! Let’s lobby for it. Seriously.

  3. Congrats on your race! I am a big baby about running in the cold so I give you a lot of credit.

    Can’t wait to see your pics of a snow covered Central Park!

  4. great job! pasta looks SO yummy

  5. Great race and even in such cold conditions! It is tough to get the muscles firing at low temperatures for most people, but the reward once you do get going is unbelievable. You smoked that course!

  6. congratulations on the race!! and thanks for putting the running man in thong imagery in my head… blech. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

