• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Off Track

I had the best intentions last night. I finished dinner and was all set to pack my suitcase, but when I saw Miracle on 34th Street on television, I just couldn’t pass it up! So, rather than be the responsible little wife I’d hoped to be, I snuggled into the couch, enjoyed the movie and treated myself to a holiday-themed dessert.

As much as I’m ready for Christmas, I still feel like it’s snuck up on me this year. Maybe it’s because I’m far away from my family again. This will be the second year I don’t get to see my parents for Christmas and it’s something that’s been a little difficult to handle. Last year, we were all so busy that we barely spoke to each other on Christmas. I know people do long-distance holidays all the time, but there’s something to be said for all being together and taking time as a family to slow down and savor the blessings we have. This year, even though we won’t all be together, I have high hopes. Sure, my parents will be in sunny Florida while I’m in Oregon, but for the first time in ages, all four of us “children” will be together. And it’ll be the first time we’re all together with my Granny, Grampa, and Great Aunt Liddie. We also get to celebrate with two new husbands (The Huz and my lovely sister, Rachel’s, husband Β and new-daddy Ben), my aunt, uncle and cousin, and beautiful baby Luna. I’m a big softy at heart, so I’m sure I’ll still shed a tear when I wake up in the morning without my stocking stuffed full of goodies and my mom making strudel in the kitchen. But, my spirits will quickly brighten when, again, I am reminded of my blessings all around me. Tomorrow morning I’ll be celebrating with my in-laws with Christmas breakfast and then we’ll embark on our trip to the great wild west.

I’ll be at Christmas Eve dinner tonight, so I don’t know if I’ll be blogging, but I hope each and every one of you is celebrating this holiday season and the new year with someone you love, whether it’s family, friends or a significant other. Whoever you love, hug them and treasure the memories your making each day.

Much love!

10 Responses

  1. Aww such a sweet post. Holidays can be tough when you have to split them. I’ve given up Thanksgiving to my in laws and I miss my family very much on that day (it’s a big get-together for my fam). But it’s so nice that all the kids will be together – it will make the distance seem less far.

    Have a great Holiday!

  2. I hear you about the holiday’s sneaking up on you – I feel that same way this year. I am SUCH a Christmas person but this year have found it hard to get in the swing of things – I’m not sure why!
    I hope you have a wonderful holiday with all your siblings – how special πŸ™‚
    xoxo
    Happy Holidays!

  3. Aw, you gave me warm fuzzies. πŸ˜€

    Assume you too are desk-bound for at least half the day? Yeah, I’m pretty sure nothing kills Christmas spirit like work, but oh well–I’m off at 1 and on a bus by 2! No time wasted. πŸ˜‰

    I’m spending Christmas with my sister, her husband and my niece, so I’ll kind of have a mini version of what you’re doing. Actually, this will be my first xmas w/o my parents too–I just realized that! I’ve even had Christmases in China and India and they managed to be in those places as well, so yeah, this year will be different. 😦 But on the other hand, I’ve had very few Christmases without this particular sister, so I will be glad to have her with me nonetheless.

    Merry Christmas Katherine! xo

  4. Enjoy your holiday PrettyLady! I hope you have a great holiday, with or without the parentals. We are always very far away from fam on the holidays (and we live 3000+) miles from the nearest family member so I understand what distance can be like, esp on the sentimental times. Merry Xmas and hope you enjoy the day!

  5. Oh, you can’t miss out on Miracle on 34th Street! I love that one… haven’t seen it in a few years though.

    Holidays snuck up on me this year, too… but that just means I’ll be extra happy when I get off work and the festivities begin!

    Merry Christmas, Katherine πŸ™‚

  6. Have a wonderful Christmas πŸ™‚

  7. That Christmas dessert looks delicious. It’s hard being away from parents during the holidays, but it’s so great you’ll still be with loved ones πŸ™‚

  8. It seems like the holiday snuck up on everyone this year. I’m not sure why it is. I feel like it’s been an odd year overall. The best is yet to come though!

    Have a great day!

  9. Sounds so fun!! The holidays do tend to just creep up and surprise ya! It goes so fast though. I hope you have a fantastic holiday!!!

  10. No struedel this year but Love is not deterred by miles. In some miraculous way it finds you, because wherever you are, my darling daughter, you are always in my heart and in my thoughts. As I hope you know, I love you always and in all ways, Mom

Leave a Reply

