• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Football, Babies and Blueberry Pancakes!

We’ve finally reached part III of my holiday recap. Sunday started with a trip to the grocery store and, I’ll be honest, I will a little crazy! My sister lives 5 minutes from both a Trader Joe’s AND a Whole Foods. Um, why do I not live there yet?

Our Christmas present to the new parents was a weekend of homemade meals. Since we cheated a bit and had Chinese food on Friday, and had dinner provided by my aunt and uncle on Saturday, I was determined to make up for our slacking on Sunday. A slow-cook cookbook rounded out their gift so I asked my BIL to pick any recipe he wanted and I’d make it. Can I just say, way to go BIL?! He picked a roasted semi-boneless leg of lamb with rosemary and garlic oil. The recipe called for 6-8 lbs so I went straight to Whole Foods to buy organic, grass-fed lamb. I also picked up fingerling potatoes and yams so we’d have some side dishes. At Trader Joe’s, I bought pizza fixings, quesadilla fillings and the ingredients for oatmeal pancakes (my sister’s request).

Back at the apartment with the groceries, I got to work making pancakes and nitrite-free applewood smoked bacon for everyone. In addition to the blueberry pancake below, I made apple cinnamon pancakes by microwaving a chopped honeycrisp apple with a pinch of cinnamon for one minute. I let each person pick pancake type for each round and we even ventured into the chocolate chip pancake realm once or twice. Drizzled with some organic grade B maple syrup, these were divine!

**To make the pancake batter, I used Trader Joe’s buttermilk pancake mix and, for the 3 1/2 cups of mix the recipe called for, I used 2.5 cups mix and 1 cup quick cooking oats.

Since we were on the west coast, the Steelers game started at 10am so I was working on the lamb, flipping pancakes and cheering for our team all at the same time! Thankfully, I did manage to take a break to snap one or two photos of Luna (finally):

See what I mean? GORGEOUS. Seriously, folks. I’m a little afraid for my brother-in-law. He’s going to have his hands full when this little girl gets older. Look at her all decked out in Steelers gear!

I swear, I was supporting her neck. She kept turning to look at her papa!

After the football game, we spent the afternoon napping (all four of the siblings), nursing (Luna), more football watching (BIL and The Huz) and savoring the roast lamb. Moose, my sister’s Newfoundland, did his best to attract our attention and look adorable.

On Monday, we had a quick breakfast, said our goodbyes and were on the road. A short flight to Seattle allowed us to have a leisurely lunch in a nice airport restaurant. The Huz had Alaska True Cod stuffed with artichoke hearts and Dungeness crab. I had a salad topped with crab, grapefruit, avocado, spiralized beets and a fresh dressing and a bowl of clam chowder. YUM! My happy food belly allowed me to rest for most of the flight to Newark, though there was no denying the bumpy landing. Thankfully, we landed safe and sound, if not a bit frayed around the edges, and were curled up in bed by 1am on Tuesday.

I’m so glad this has been a short week and I’m really looking forward to a fabulous New Years’ Eve with more friends and family. Then, I’ll be regrouping a bit for the new year, setting my goals and embarking on some new challenges!

Hope you have a wonderful New Years’!!


8 Responses

  1. HOW adorable is Luna?! Precious. However, Moose is giving her a run for her money πŸ˜‰
    Happy New Year!!

  2. Luna is really gorgeous! Seriously – sometimes I think newborns looks kind of smushy and not entirely cute, but Luna is soo cute. And I love how natural your Huz looks with the baby – like it’s not big thing – holding the baby, watching the game – he can do it all. haha.

    I’m medicating like crazy in hopes that I will feel 100% by Saturday so I can get in some running. Do you want to tentatively plan a run for Saturday or Sunday?

    • Sounds great! Sunday might be better, unless we run later b/c I’m hoping to have a little Today Show party on Saturday AM to watch myself look ridiculous on national television πŸ˜‰

  3. Luna is adorable! Also, I like your Ted Corbitt 15K shirt πŸ™‚

  4. I know everyone else is commenting on Luna, but what about the Newfi? That is one good looking dog! As fantastic as it is visiting loved ones, isn’t great to finally be home again?

    • Haha don’t worry, we spoiled him rotten! I know what it’s like to be the older “sibling” and feel displaced when the new little one comes home so I lavished Moose with plenty of love and attention πŸ™‚

      It really is great to be home again. I feel like, though I miss my family like crazy, I treasure the time we do have together so much because we get together so rarely. We really try to make every minute count!

      Hope you had a wonderful New Year!

  5. Wow so many blueberries!

    YUM!

    Have a happy New Years!

    Healthy food and exercise in 2010!

    Katie

Leave a Reply

