• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


My Drug of Choice

I was recently reading a certain lovely lady’s blog and she was discussing her coffee drinking habit. While I don’t consider myself a coffee addict (what addict does?), I definitely go through phases with it. I’ll have coffee every day for a few months, and then none for weeks on end. Generally, I walk to work and look pityingly at the poor souls who line up outside Starbucks and Dunkin’ Donuts like addicts outside a methadone clinic. During the holidays, I must admit I became one of those drones. Unable to get my act together enough to make my own cup of gold, I shelled out $4 almost every day for just one more hit, just one more, and then I promised I’d go clean.

Well, I’m proud to say the new year has brought about a slightly more frugal RunnerWife and I’m now making a more concerted effort to brew my own magic right here in my kitchen each morning before work. And thanks to my beautiful sister and her brother-in-law, and a very generous Huz, I’ve taken their gift

and found a less expensive method of furthering my addiction. In parts, here is my morning coffee routine. All the parts lined up (french press, go mug, grinder):

Beans go in

Powder comes out

Added to hot water and left to steep for 10 minutes

Yesterday morning, I started my day with a bowl of Wheat Chex and a cup of magic elixir and it was tasty, inexpensive, and made within the comfort of my own home. You know what else was made at home? An awesome dinner courtesy of Huz featuring this little guy

Sprinkled on about 1/2 pound of organic king salmon and served with a roasted orange bell pepper a sauteed onion and half a pocketless pita

While I did love all the wonderful meals we ate in restaurants, at dinner parties and on the go, I am so glad to be back in my own kitchen!

Dinner was enjoyed while stretching and watching The Dark Knight. Why did I engage in evening stretching, you ask? Because I finally made it back to the gym yesterday! You might have noticed there’s been a distinct absence of weekday exercise in these parts lately and I’m totally taking the easy way out and blaming the holidays. Yesterday I finally made myself get back to the gym, and I’m so glad I did! I ran three miles, broken up after each mile with strength and core work.

Mile 1: 7:50
Mile 2: 8:15
Mile 3 (cooldown): 8:45

Not too shabby for a quick midday workout!

Well, my coffee mug is empty, my cereal is gone and I think it’s finally time to head to work. Have a great Tuesday!


19 Responses

  1. Wow – sub 8:00 minute mile – I like it! I want to be there.

    And I love using a french press. I brought one with me to my old job and made coffee there every morning…until I got lazy and stopped. But they are a great invention and save you a ton of money. Very frugal lady! Happy Tuesday… is it Friday yet?

  2. Is it sad that I found the french press my roommate had to be extremely intimidating and never used it? I think it was from fear the simple machine would beat me and I’d be embaressed and defeated…

    • Haha not sad at all. We actually have TWO because I think I got one as a gift and was so intimidated by it that I hid it in the back of a cabinet. When I got on the “make-your-own-coffee-kick” again, I went out and bought another one having totally forgotten about the first one and it still took me a long time to get the courage to use it!

  3. yum – freshly roasted + brewed coffee is the best!

  4. Love it!! Im a self declared coffee addict as well and that is one awesome looking cup of coffee you got there! The french press never fails. Have a great day today!

  5. Not too shabby at all!

    And I LOVE freshly ground coffee! Nothing beats it!

  6. I definitely look forward to my coffee every day. I would call you the opposite of lazy though if you’re griding your own beans and everything! My usual is just old school Mr. Coffee style. 🙂

  7. There are some great restaurants in Dallas where we visited for the holidays. I really ate so great food while there. But you are right, it is excellent to be back home and have the food that you good right at your hands. Great post.

  8. ive been known to describe myself as one of those methadone clinic drones…awaiting for my precious ‘bucks to open. seriously, same exact metaphor. and i know all too well what those people look/act like (sadly).

    anyways, im already upping the tea in my life and decreasing the java. and im drinking coffee as i type this. ha!

    • i would love to sub out tea for my coffee, but it just seems like such a huge sacrifice! i’m convincing myself that if this is my only vice, i’m not doing too badly 😉

  9. I was SO good for many months, but lately I’ve been frequenting starbucks wayyy too often. Damn you one-pump gingerbread mistos!! Maybe now that the holiday flavors are on their way out I will be less tempted 🙂

  10. I get completely free and delicious coffee at work every morning. Now that’s perfection.

    • That sounds wonderful!! Our office coffee is the pits so I’m forced to get my fix pre-work. I suppose there are worse things in life but I’m so envious of you!!

  11. […] Posted on January 7, 2010 by prettyladycmu Wow, looks like there are a few other coffee drinkers out there in the world just like me! I’m definitely continuing to incorporate more tea into […]

  12. if you haven’t tried it yet, look out for a milk frother!!! it will complete the latte / cappuccino effect for so much less $$. it’s probably my favorite kitchen gadget!

    • Oooh I love using a milk frother! My mother-in-law gave me a little handheld one a few years ago but it eventually died. We have an aeroccino (sp?) now, but it’s more of a hassle to clean so I find I end up saving frothy goodness for weekends. Perhaps I shouldn’t make myself wait though!

  13. […] ham sandwiches made from leftovers of my grandmother-in-law’s Christmas evening party and the organic salmon from Monday’s […]

Leave a Reply

