• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Are You Staying On Track?

We made it! It’s Friday! And now the fun really begins, right?

What are you up to this weekend? Baking something fabulous? Running a marathon and hugging Mickey? Whittling your middle?

Tonight, I’m having drinks with some of my colleagues and then I’m headed back uptown to celebrate The Huz’s grandmother’s birthday. The restaurant we’re going to is lovely, but I have a feeling it’s going to be a challenge to find a vegetarian dish. Well, that’s not completely true. I can get ravioli, which I love (in case you forgot), but I don’t know that I really need to start my weekend with a carb coma! The rest of the menu is basically steak, chicken and fish dishes. As I’ve said before, I’m not a vegetarian, but I really don’t enjoy eating meat unless I know where it cames from. Take me to a farmer’s market where I can actually talk to the farmer who raised the animal and can assure me it was a “happy cow” and then we’re in business. Or provide me with beautiful, organic salmon and watch me jump up and down with excitement.

Otherwise, I think I’ll pass. In fact, I’ve passed on meat several times this week and have no complaints!

Which brings me to my 2010 goal update:

1. New 1/2 marathon PR – while I haven’t banked any long runs since January 1 (come on, it’s only been a week!), I have to go on the shorter runs I had this week, which were done at a pretty good pace, but I’ve got some serious work to do. Good thing I’ve got all year! πŸ™‚

2. Run 9 NYRR races and volunteer for 1 – I’m having a hard time remembering that I’ve got a half marathon in just a few weeks. Good thing I’m already working on my pace so I won’t be completely out of shape!

3. 200 blog posts – I’m trying to balance my inspiration to write with this goal. I don’t want to post for the sake of posting. I get frustrated with “token posts” because it’s so clear when a writer isn’t feeling inspired. And since I’m terrible at hiding my true feelings (just ask The Huz), I am only writing when I really want to. I’d like to think I’ll be inspired to write 200 times this year, and so far I’ve postedΒ 9 times in the past 8 days, so let’s see if I can keep up the momentum!

4. Read 8 books – I’ve already finished my first book this year! Over the holidays I started My Life In France and I luxuriated in all my free time over the long weekend by sipping tea and reading. I’ll post my review of the book this weekend.

5. Lose 10 pounds – Going by my bathroom scale, though I fear it may be damaged from so many months of neglect and standing on its side, I’ve already lost 2.2 pounds. I’m still sticking with my .8lbs per week so technically I have no weight to lose between today and next Friday. Originally, I was inclined to commit to an additional .8lb by next Friday, but my goal is to lose weight slowly and without allowing any unhealthy thoughts to linger in my mind. If I’m up a little or down a little, it’s okay! Well, as long as my total weight loss is more than 1.6lbs. Otherwise I’ll be trudging around in the cold, dark morning for a week πŸ˜‰

6. Eat vegetarian at least 4 days/week – This is been a breeze! Including January 1, I’ve eaten vegetarian 6 days and today is stacking up to be vegetarian, too, if I can finagle something at dinner tonight. On my two “omni” days, I had mini ham sandwiches made from leftovers of my grandmother-in-law’s Christmas evening party and the organic salmon from Monday’s dinner.

If you made a list of goals or resolutions, how are you doing with them? Still going strong? Need some motivation?

Have you ever asked for a heavily-modified entree at a restaurant? I’m thinking of asking for some kind of vegetable dish, but I’m not sure how to go about it!

TGIF!!

27 Responses

  1. Great resolutions. I’m doing pretty well with mine so far, but I only had a few!

    You could always tell the waiter that you are vegan and see if they could make something. That way they can’t suggest the ravioli as something without meat.

  2. Great goals! It is refreshing to read a blogger who really cares where her food is coming from πŸ™‚ You should look into joining a CSA this summer! A great chance to get local produce and many groups also offer meat and dairy add-ons!

    P.S. Today the enitre post showed up in my Google Reader (instead of just a few lines). I’m not sure if you did anything to make this change but I love it πŸ™‚

    • Can I just say three cheers for CSAs? I threatened to sell my soul a few months ago just to get a CSA share and the powers that be have smiled on me – I’m getting a 1/2 veggie and full fruit share starting this spring!!!

  3. Great resolutions.. I think the 0.8 lbs is a really reasonable amount!

    Oh and the hemp protein.. I feel ya on that! I have some that’s been in my refrigerator forever..ick!! haha

  4. I love your goal about volunteering at a race-what a great idea! I’m having trouble remembering I made resolutions this year, but I’m going to try!

  5. Love the update! I’m interested in the book review as well. I’m reading The Lovely Bones right now. It’s amazing.

    I’ve ordered off menu and made modifications at restaurants. I do it all the time actually. They’re usually really cool about it. I just make a joke and say, “Sorry, I’m going to be a big pain in your ass and make a ton of changes.” They usually laugh and take out their pen. Good luck πŸ™‚

  6. These are awesome goals πŸ™‚ Especially the 200 post one. I totally hear ya on that. I get so annoyed when I read a post I’ve written just for the sake of getting something up there. I too am going to cut back in the hopes that my posts are all QUALITY πŸ˜€

    Good luck with the 1/2 marathon PR. I’m training for my very first so any advice you have would be greatly appreciated!

    PS – That fish looks perfectly cooked!

  7. You are doing great!! Thanks for the goodluck wishes on my race tomorrow – I’m excited and nervous. I think in honor of the first 2010 half marathon approaching for both of us, we should plan on doing a run this coming Monday 1/11/10. I think Mondays will work for me – let’s do this! πŸ™‚

  8. I’m with you on the meat consumption bit. I rarely eat meat, and when I do, I do my very best to get it in lean protein/organic form.

    Great job on the goal progress! You rock!

  9. I’m the same with with you about meet. I rarely eat it, but I’m not a vegetarian.

  10. Amen to your writing goal! Token posts = so gnarly and transparent. I struggle to balance what I think of my Sun-Thurs blogging routine with quality content, but then again the word “routine” has often frustrated me in many ways! Spontaneity or rolling-with-the-puches-ness is not one of my strong suits, sadly.

  11. I like your goals!! I just started an awesome book you might like. It is called Once A Runner by John Parker. It is really good!

  12. Volunteering at a race is where it is at. It is tough to sit on the sidelines, but the racers appreciate enthusiastic support!

    And organic salmon? Is that the same as wild salmon?

  13. Great goals! I, too, have plans to run a 1/2 marathon PR. It definitely won’t be at the Manhattan Half – can’t believe that is only 2 weeks away, ahhhh – but it will be in 2010!

    I would definitely ask for a modified veggie dish tonight! The restaurant’s job is to make you happy πŸ™‚ You might also be able to make a vegetarian meal out of appetizers – hearty soup, fancy salad, etc.

    TGIF!

  14. Ooh I should have put a “read x amount of books” on my 2010 list. I love reading, but I don’t make time for it during the week. Good work on your goals!

  15. awesome resolutions. Im doing pretty great with mine although im constantly adding to it! I think its kinda fun to set goals. I try to keep mine vague so I dont get too wrapped up in trying to accomplish them no matter what. Oh and I absolutely heavily modify dishes when I go out. I figure if Im paying the money I want it done the way I want. Plus any good chef can make up a great dish on the fly! So modify away=) Have a great weekend!

  16. […] neighborhood that The Huz’s family adores. Armed with all of your wonderful suggestions about ordering dinner in a decided non-organic, non-vegetarian restaurant, I felt very comfortable while perusing the […]

  17. Great goals! I tried a half marathon for the first time last summer and loved the experience (although my knee doesn’t necessarily agree).

    Keep up the great work. I’ll be checking back!

Leave a Reply

