• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Improvisation and a Blogger Run

Last night, Lindsey and I braved the elements and met up for a run on the river after work. I know I shouldn’t complain about the weather since it was 15 degrees colder on Saturday when she ran her 5-miler, but I still like to think I’m a pretty tough cookie for heading out into the dark and cold. At 6:15, we met near the river and Lindsey set her Garmin to pace us. We headed south to start and went as far as the 59th Street bridge before turning around and heading back uptown and turning around at 107th St. Even with the steps around 80th, we managed to keep a 9-ish minute pace, one that is fairly respectable, if you ask me!

When I returned home I went from zero to starving in about 30 seconds flat. We’d made a roast leg of lamb (organic from Trader Joe’s) the night before so I made up a wrap. First, the tortilla

Smeared with hummus

Add some delicious string cheese

And top with medium rare lamb and mixed greens, et voila!

For dessert, I had a big spoonful of peanut butter sprinkled with semisweet chocolate chips and a big glass of seltzer water.

What are your favorite wrap ingredients?


21 Responses

  1. I love those wraps!! I buy them all the time 🙂 And you know me…I’ll put anything in a wrap once!

  2. Thanks again for the great run! It felt wonderful to actually run outside during the week.

    Your wrap looks delish! I have to say that I love adding salsa to my chicken wraps. Salsa makes everything better in my world. Have a nice rest of the week you crazy busy woman!

  3. P.S. – Hope the puppers is feeling better.

  4. The wrap looks delish! Great job on your run.

    My fave thing to put in a wrap is peanut butter and banana. So good!

  5. That wrap looks SO good! And good work on that run 😉

  6. Hooray for runs with fellow bloggers! Are you getting pumped for the 1/2 marathon?? My hip was bothering me so I’m taking a few days off of running to make sure it’s A-OK for the race. Eek!

    My favorite wrap ingredients are: baked tofu, sprouts, romaine lettuce, and spicy peanut sauce. Yum!

    • I’m pumped, but also terrified! This is definitely the least preparation I’ve done for a half marathon in a long time. Should be an interesting experience. Take good care of your hip!!!

  7. Sounds like a good run.

    My favorite wrap ingredients are hummus, avocado, tomato, goat cheese and spinach.

  8. So, maybe I’m a creep, but I’m SUPER excited to be able to read your full posts on google reader now!

    Thanks!!

  9. Oh I love those wraps. I usually fill mine with peanutbutter and jelly. Slightly odd but it works for me! 🙂

    And you are definitely a tough cookie for running in the elements! 🙂

  10. Mmm those wraps look killer! Hummus is always included in mine…(and I buy the SAME wraps you have…love them and their stats). I also like to make “sweet” wraps…pb, cinnamon, chocolate chips, banana. Mmm, mmm.

  11. Uh, tough cookie doesn’t even begin to describe you for running in this cold! I can barely make it from my apt to the subway!

  12. When I’m out to eat, sometimes all I want is a chicken caeser wrap. Mmm! I also really like veggie wraps. I’m not good at making wraps at home because I don’t fold them properly.

    • You and me both, Melissa! I think part of the problem is that I never bother to buy really big wraps when I’m making my own. It’s so much easier to properly fold a HUGE wrap even with lots of ingredients. But I like to stuff these guys full of goodness and then can barely close them up.

  13. Leg of lamb sounds so good right now. Even though it’s 11PM and I’m not that hungry, I could totally go for a leg of lamb right now. Also, I need those magical tortillas!

    Great job for braving the weather and the dark! Two elements that turn me into a treadmill wimp instantly!

    • Haha nothing like a little night time leg of lamb snack right?

      Oh the wraps are super easy to find – just venture over to 77th and 1st – Matter of Health. They’re in the refrigerated section!

  14. Favourite wrap ingredient would have to be …. cheese 🙂 Just isn’t the same without it!

  15. That wrap looks soo….gourmet. Rare lamb? Wow.
    My favorite is: smoked turkey, cranberry relish, goat cheese, arugula. Mmm…

Leave a Reply

