• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Book Review #2 – The Art of Racing In The Rain

First of all, thanks to all your great wrap fixin’ suggestions! All I want for lunch this week is to try out each and every one of your suggestions πŸ™‚ Oh, and if you missed them, check out the goods. Sweet wraps, savory wraps. Salsa-fied wraps. You name it, I’m totally tempted to try it!

The Huz and I went to Costco on Saturday and, as usual, I couldn’t help stopping by the book section for a quick perusal. At one point, I had four or five books in our cart, but I managed to narrow it down to one – The Art of Racing in the Rain. The last puppy book I read was Marley & Me, which made me cry like a baby. I’d seen The Art in the stacks several months ago and was intrigued, but I firmly believe that sometimes books come into your life at just the right time. I’d passed this one by before, but this time it was meant to come home with me.

After the rest of our errands, we spent a lazy afternoon at home watching football, making homemade soup, and spending time with a family friend. With football finished and a belly full of pasta and chickpeas, I hunkered down for some quality reading time. And wouldn’t you know, I didn’t move from the couch for almost four hours. I positively devoured this book, flying through the pages, committing the words, characters and scenes to memory.

I probably should have known that I was in for a tear jerker after the first chapter had my mascara running and my nose sniffling but I can honestly say I loved every page of this book and I believe any pet owner or dog lover would too. I want so much to tell you all about the story, but I don’t want to ruin a single sentence for you. It’s Wednesday, now, and I’m still replaying scenes in my mind. I will say that Denny and Enzo are two of the sweetest, most genuine characters you’ll find in a book today and I know they’ll remain in my heart.

Have you read a book that stays with you for days or weeks after you read it?

Oh and if you missed my first book review of the year, check out my opinion of My Life In France!

12 Responses

  1. Sounds interesting. I loved Three Cups Of Tea. It’s my favorite book.

  2. i just finished “towelhead” by alicia erian and it was so good i read it in less than 24 hours. which was fabulous given that i wason a 5 book long streak of disappointments. my mom read “the art…” for her book club a few months ago and said she liked it.

    if you arent on http://www.goodreads.com you should be…some of my recent(ish) faves have been: water for elephants and the glass castle

    feel free to pass on any suggestions of good ones to me πŸ™‚

  3. My mom has been telling me about that book and suggesting I read it. I did the same thing last night – I devoured my latest book. I was up till midnight and was totally ignoring my hubby. It was pretty good. I’m going to try to post a review today or tomorrow. It was such a fast read and I was really into it – I love when that happens.

    And I love talking books obviously! πŸ™‚

  4. thanks for sharing! ALWAYS looking for new books, so this is great πŸ˜‰

  5. I just recently read a book called, Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Stout…really good! I also liked a book called The Pilot’s Wife by Anita Shreive.

  6. I read this book for my book club a few months back and it made me cry, too! I loved how unique the perspective was coming from Enzo. I heard they are making a movie of it staring Patrick Dempsey as Denny! Yessss!

  7. Have you read The Help? I really liked that one.

  8. Considering the last 2 books I read were by Dan Brown and Sophie Kinsella, I can’t say I’ve been into literature with “staying power” lately. πŸ™‚ But page-turners, yes! I’m currently delving into the Lord of the Rings trilogy, which is way more literary than the movies might have us believe! It’s like frickin English class, sheesh.

    As for random recommendations, you might like Loving Frank (can’t remember the author)–it’s historical fiction, but a rather juicy yarn about Frank Lloyd Wright. Oowah oowah! But seriously, very interesting. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

