• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Breath and Prayer

Good morning, everyone! I hope all is well for you on this fine Friday! I don’t know about you, but this has been quite a week from my point of view. First, the earthquake in Haiti shook far more than just that little country. As I write this, the American Red Cross has already raised more than $5 million in donations and I hope you are all doing your part in one way or another. I’m so fortunate to not know anyone who was there when the earthquake struck, but many of my family and friends are missing loved ones and I am praying every day that those people are found safe and sound.

Also in my prayers is my paternal grandfather. I’m not going to go into too many details since this is my blog, not his, and it’s not my place to go plastering other people’s private information all over the world wide web (unless it’s good news, of course). I will say that he got some pretty terrible news about his health this week. After a lengthy surgery and about a million different tests, it looks like he’ll be going through a series of chemotherapy this Spring. As sad as I was to receive the news, I knew that my grandfather is a fighter. His quiet demeanor belies the tough spirit housed in his body. When we were children, we were all terribly intimidated by him. Of course, why wouldn’t we be? This 6’4″ man with a commanding voice and watchful gaze always managed to keep a house full of at least 20 children and grandchildren in order. You must be a pretty tough guy to handle that crowd!

But as we’ve grown older, we’ve gotten to know a man who loves deeply, gives completely and smiles readily. A few years ago, one of us “grandkids” noticed that my grandparents hold hands almost everywhere they go. When asked, my grandma joked “It’s so we can hold each other up!” Even if age brings with it some shaky ground, I think they still hold hands because they truly are even more in love at this very moment than they were when they got married almost 63 years ago. They’ve held each other up through more challenges than I can imagine facing in one lifetime and now they are faced with another challenge. And while I know they don’t want to burden anyone, I hope you’ll include them in your thoughts when you can.

Andrea, my counselor for the Spark! Wellness January Cleanse, hosted a teleconference last night that discussed, among other things, taking time for breathing exercises and meditation. One of the exercises she shared that I most appreciated is called the 4-7-8 breath, which was excerpted from an article by Dr. Andrew Weil.

“One breathing exercise I highly recommend is the 4-7-8 breath. It is utterly simple, takes almost no time, requires no equipment and can be done anywhere. Although you can do the exercise in any position, sit with your back straight while learning the exercise. Place the tip of your tongue against the ridge of tissue just behind your upper front teeth, and keep it there through the entire exercise. You will be exhaling through your mouth around your tongue; try pursing your lips slightly if this seems awkward.

Note that you always inhale quietly through your nose and exhale audibly through your mouth. The tip of your tongue stays in position the whole time. Exhalation takes twice as long as inhalation. The absolute time you spend on each phase is not important; but the ratio of 4:7:8 is. If you have trouble holding your breath, speed the exercise up but keep to the ratio of 4:7:8 for the three phases. With practice you can slow it all down and get used to inhaling and exhaling more and more deeply. Practice at least twice a day. You cannot do it too frequently. Do not do more than four breaths at one time for the first month of practice. Later, if you wish, you can extend it to eight breaths. If you feel a little lightheaded when you first breathe this way, do not be concerned; it will pass.”

Andrea encouraged us to embrace moments of breath and prayer as we begin and journey through our 10-day cleanse. Even though I know the breathing exercise is meant to clear my mind, my intention is to focus that new-found calmness and energy toward the earthquake victims and my grandparents.

Do you do any breathing exercises or meditation?

14 Responses

  1. Sending well wishes to you, your grandfather and your entire family during this difficult time.

  2. Beautiful post. Your grandfather is lucky to have such a supportive and kind family around him at this tough time.

  3. Thanks for sharing the story. Nothing but positive thoughts for you and your family!

  4. My thoughts are with your grandfather and your family.

  5. My heart is with you and your incredible Grandfather. ❤ ❤

  6. Goodluck and best wishes to your Grandfather. I am sending my thoughts and prayers his way and yours.

    Thanks for this great post, for sharing and for the reminder to appreciate the people in our lives.

  7. My thoughts are definitely with you and your family right now! Keep us posted as you feel comfortable!

    I try to do breathing exercises and meditation but I get so distracted…haha…so usually I do most of my meditation during my long runs. I can’t explain it but running is so calming to me…it is seriously like my yoga!

  8. Im sorry to hear about your grandfather. I wish him and your family the best of luck. Its wonderful to hear he has such a supportive family to help him through a tough time. Take care!!

  9. I’ll be thinking of you and your family. I hope it turns out okay.

  10. Your family is definitely in my thoughts.

  11. I’m so sorry to hear about your grandfather. Thank you for your thoughtful, honest post!

  12. Sending wishes and thoughts for your family. Great post, I find I have to remind myself to just breathe from time to time during stressful days at work and when trying to juggle too much.

  13. Oh that is just so sweet. I hope your grandpa is okay and that you and your family are doing okay.

Leave a Reply

