• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


The Wonders of the Blog World

I always knew blog writers were smart cookies. We’re creative, inspiring, warm and generous. A select few are even pretty hilarious! Yesterday, when I wrote about my grandfather, you were so kind and supportive. I honestly can’t even begin to express how much your good thoughts and wishes mean to me.

On Wednesday, I asked what your favorite wrap ingredients were and we got some fantastic suggestions in the comments section! Inspired by your ideas, I made a breakfast wrap for the first time and absolutely fell in love. So much so that I told one of my colleagues at two in the afternoon on Friday that I was still thinking about the breakfast wrap five hours after it’d been consumed. I also stopped by the grocery store on my way home to pick up bananas for my next iteration! For my first try, I kept it simple. One wrap, 1 T. peanut butter, 1 pinch cinnamon, light sprinkle cayenne.

YUM! The heat of the cayenne made this wrap so deliciously warm and satisfying and the cinnamon added much needed depth. Even though I won’t be having another one for the next 10 days b/c of the Spark! Wellness cleanse, I’m definitely planning to add these back into my diet over time (even if that means finding gluten-free wraps and using almond butter!).

This weekend I’m going to spend a lot of time in the kitchen. On Sunday and Monday I’ll be making the meals I’ll need for the first week of the cleanse and I’ve gotten permission from the lovely Spark! team to share a few with you so make sure to check back often!

Today, I’m going to focus on cooking for someone else! I’m actually headed to the kitchen of none other than the Happy Herbivore! Lindsay has been working like a mad woman on her cookbook and I have been so lucky to get to test some of the recipes before they go to print. Now that she’s narrowed the recipe pool down to her goal, it’s time for photography.

She and her husband have set up a super elaborate photography corner in their apartment and she’s been making between five and seven recipes EVERY DAY and photographing them for the book.

When she asked if I’d like to swing by to play in the kitchen and play with our cameras (ours are brand siblings!), I immediately cleared my schedule, made sure The Huz would be content to sit in front of the TV watching playoff football all day, and said YES! So look for tweets, short posts, and lots of photos today while we cook, bake and take pictures like the food bloggers we love to be!


10 Responses

  1. Sounds like SO much fun, can’t wait to see the pics!

  2. Ohhh, have fun with the camera party! Looking forward to the yummy looking pictures to come,

    Also, I love adding a hint of cayenne pepper to just about anything. The nice spice never fails to give just the right amount of kick to any given recipe.

    Have a great weekend lady!

  3. and SCott has apparently set up a webcam and video camera to get some “behind the scenes” footage.. oi. suck in that gut HH!

  4. That sounds like a lot of fun. I’ll be on the lookout for your tweets!

  5. I would have never thought to mix PB, cinnamon and cayenne…what a fabulous combination!!!

  6. That sounds like a blast! Have a fun, yummy, time 😀

  7. How fun!! I can’t wait to see how it goes (I just added you to twitter so I can follow the updates!). I am also about to get off the couch to go make that wrap with cinnamon and Cayenne! Yum!

    And since I’m catching up – I’m so sorry to hear about your grandfather. He and your family are definitely in my thoughts and prayers!

  8. That sounds like so much fun! Have a good rest of your weekend girl!

  9. […] with peanut butter, cinnamon and a sprinkle of cayenne pepper – thanks to Kate for the new spicy addition, I loved […]

  10. […] Blog Inspiration Week 2 Goal Progress Report – An ‘Off’ Week My first photo session with Lindsay, and my first mean comment! Detox Day 1, the return of the smoothie and more photos Detox Day 2, the day of the hummus blob Are You A Snack-a-Holic? Detox Day 3, Reflections on Energy Special Spark! Wellness Recipe! I Heart Alliteration […]

Leave a Reply

