• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Spark! Wellness Detox – Day 2 Recap

Hello again! Lucky for me, Day 2 of the detox went just as well as Day 1, if not even better. I started my morning with a big glass of water and a smoothie. Same mix of ingredients as Day 1, but with chia seeds instead of ground flax seeds. Twas tasty!

For lunch, I had brown rice and leftover asparagus The Huz had sauteed in olive oil, lemon juice, fresh rosemary and garlic.

I had a small “cheat” snack in the afternoon and came to the decision that there is NO way to make a blob of hummus look appealing in a photo. This was the cayenne hummus I used in my wraps last week with two organic carrots.

I also sipped on green tea throughout the day and had a very satisfying dinner, though it went unpictured. Imagine, if you will, chilled baked tofu squares seasoned with ginger and herbs, steamed squash, snap peas and cauliflower and two wedges of orange marinated sweet potato. With a drizzle of balsamic vinaigrette and a bit more brown rice to bring it all together, it was a tasty and very filling dinner.

I walked about 4 miles throughout the day – to and from work and as a result of miscellaneous errands. I’m hoping to make it to the gym for some light cardio and maybe a stop in the sauna today.

I’d like to give a shout out to all the other wonderful Level 2 cleansers who I’m getting to know through our forums. Such an incredible group of people! Hope Day 3 is the best yet!


19 Responses

  1. hehe humus just isn’t photogenic 🙂

  2. It looks like your detox is going well! I will have to try it sometime 🙂 I can’t wait to see if you notice a difference in how you feel.

    • i know i’m only a few days in, but i can highly recommend Spark! Wellness. Andrea has been an amazing resource and the rest of the Level 2 cleansers are awesome!

      i’ll be posting more about my feelings/energy etc tomorrow so stay tuned 🙂

  3. Sounds good to me! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on this when I see you Friday, and how it feels to be “on a program” so to speak vs. self-motivated.

  4. Haha so true about the hummus. Good work on the cleanse though, can’t wait to hear more!

  5. That smoothie looks really yum! I like that you can at least eat some food on this cleanse. I could never do one that’s all drink, no food. I like your hummus blob. 🙂

    Let’s chat about Sunday at some point – maybe we can head to the start together?

  6. So is your energy level up or the same? I hear of some who do the cleanse that their energy levels drop the first couple of days but then rebound in a big way. I am curious how your’s have been.

  7. mm I love asparagus!

  8. YAY for you! Day 2 down…it sounds like you are doing great!

  9. I’ve always wanted to try a Detox but I don’t know if I’d have the willpower to do it on my own.

    Glad you’re doing well w/ yours. And despite being on a Detox, your eats look delicious!

    • having a group has been very helpful, but i think there are a lot of factors that make it the “right time” vs. the “wrong time” for a cleanse. might have to write up my thoughts on that later this week!

  10. Hooray for chia seeds in your smoothie! I’m reading Born to Run at the moment and the author gives lots of love to those little nutritional powerhouses 🙂

  11. I love reading about your cleanse experiences, which you are describing so eloquently, and with such gorgeous food photos! Can’t wait to see you on Friday, girl 🙂

    • thanks gena! it’s been a great experience so far and i’m feeling like my cautious optimism is about to turn into sheer excitement any day now. see you friday, beautiful!

  12. Cayenne hummus sounds delicious! Good luck with your cleanse 🙂

  13. […] with Lindsay, and my first mean comment! Detox Day 1, the return of the smoothie and more photos Detox Day 2, the day of the hummus blob Are You A Snack-a-Holic? Detox Day 3, Reflections on Energy Special Spark! Wellness Recipe! I Heart […]

Leave a Reply

