• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Spark! Wellness Detox – Recipe #1

Hello hello! I know what you’re thinking, a second post in one day? On a Friday? Sacre bleu! (By the way, Little Mermaid was my favorite Disney movie as a kid. My parents probably have awful flashbacks of me dancing around the family room singing the songs for hours growing up.

Anyhow, enough about movies, let’s talk recipes! So I know I showed you the ingredients I’ve been using for my smoothies this week, but I wanted to post the recipe so you, too, can start your day off with the perfect balancing smoothie. Note that this is probably more substantial than smoothies you might be used to, but I found the bigger breakfast helped to manage my hunger levels throughout the day.

Spark! Wellness Berry Breakfast Smoothie (reprinted with permission from Spark! Wellness)

6-8 oz. water or unsweetened almond milk
2 rounded T. rice protein or 4 T. hemp powder
2 T. ground flax seeds or chia seeds
1 cup fresh spinach, kale or swiss chard OR serving of greens powder
1/2 cup frozen berries and cherries, mixed
1/2 banana (optional) Note: You can freeze the other half for the next day’s smoothie
1 T. almond or cashew butter
Ice

Add all ingredients to blender and blend until smooth.

Until Thursday, I’d used the hemp protein and then tried the rice protein yesterday morning. Both work for the smoothie, just make sure everything is very well blended. Otherwise, you’re more likely to get a chalky taste or pieces of kale in your mouth.

What’s your favorite Disney movie?


5 Responses

  1. Lion King!! Although I like Beauty and the Beast too.

  2. I love the Lion King 🙂

  3. I thought I was Belle. Seriously: We both have brown hair and like to read. It’ like we’re twins. Haha.

    I also LOVE the Lion King.

    Disney/Pixar is a whole new level of magic w/ with Monsters Inc., Wall-e, and Ratatouille. But the animated classics with songs will always be my all time favorites.

  4. Beauty and the Beast was definitely my favorite…I used to call myself Belle!

  5. […] Detox Day 2, the day of the hummus blob Are You A Snack-a-Holic? Detox Day 3, Reflections on Energy Special Spark! Wellness Recipe! I Heart […]

Leave a Reply

