• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Sunny Sarasota

I’m back! We left NYC on Friday, just before the weather really turned nasty for most of the northeast, and we arrived to a forecast for another blizzard. Ah well, I guess that’s part of what makes vacation so special – it doesn’t last forever! The other thing that makes vacation so special is spending it with loved ones and this trip was jam packed with members of my incredible family. I didn’t get pictures of everything, but I’ll give a brief recap in photos.

After the most turbulent flight ever, sitting between Mark the Shark and a two year old, we got Indian food. When we walked out of the restaurant, we saw this.

To entertain ourselves, we decided to do a water taste test.

Purified Water won.

The Huz was the official taste tester.

Later that night, Ben and The Huz wanted Colombian food. We stopped at a truck in the gas station parking lot.

They had festive lights, so we were happy to wait for our Cuban sandwiches.

So many options! My cousin requested the “Turkey Thank You!!!”

To complete the scenery, we got to look at this.

A much prettier sight was Miss Luna, who was adorned with a fabulous hat knitted by her great aunt.

Luna and The Huz danced the night away. This girl loves Donna Summer.

The next day, I went for a 5 mile run (42:30) and the gym and we drove to St. Armand’s circle for panini and a stroll on the beach.

We also stopped in a little spice and tea shop, where I picked up some new fudge ingredients!

Finally, it was wedding time!! Look at the beautiful bride descending the stairs to her adoring groom.

Welcome to the family, Kevin!!

So cute!

After a mixed green salad with strawberries and walnuts, we enjoyed mahi and filet mignon with potatoes and julienned vegetables. For dessert, we had a beautiful wedding cake (photo courtesy of Sarah Bouwkamp)

And the groom’s cake!

Some guests enjoyed a bananas foster station, but I had to run to watch the bouquet and garter tosses. On his first two attempts, Kevin pulled out a pair of granny panties and a pair of handcuffs. Yikes!!

Then he found the garter and all was right with the world 🙂

We danced the rest of the night away and had a lazy Sunday full of farewells as family members departed and then a Super Bowl party with new family! Many thanks to Kevin’s family for welcoming us at their hotel and sharing their tasty treats while we watched the Saints win. Congratulations to the New Orleans Saints!

We flew back yesterday afternoon, picked up our puppy and had a nice, relaxing dinner with the Huz Parents and now it’s time to brace for the blizzard that should arrive tomorrow.

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!!!


12 Responses

  1. Looks like a wonderful, memorable weekend! Thankfully, the beauty of the baby and the bride overshadowed the heinous look of the “crack man.”

    Also, that groom’s cake is awesome.

  2. Looks like so much fun, I’m off to Sarasota on Thursday and I can’t wait!

  3. So jealous! It’s been FREEZING in NYC lately. On my walk to work this morning I was thinking about how much I want to wear a bathing suit and eat ice cream at the beach 🙂

  4. Looks like a fun trip!! Yes, sorry you came back to such a yucky forecast. Maybe it will be like the last storm and never really show up. 🙂

  5. Awwww I love weddings! Sounds like it was a good one too. 🙂

    Luna is gorgeous, though that’s no surprise considering her gene pool. 😉

  6. SO jealous of that beach picture! Looks like you had a great time =)

  7. How fun! I love weddings! I am glad you had a good vacation!

  8. What a fun trip and a beautiful bride! Congrats to the newlyweds!

  9. Oh my god is that a cute baby!

  10. Looks like a fun vacation!

  11. […] become completely disorganized I ran my first giveaway! I announced the winner and flew to Florida My beautiful cousin got married in Sarasota I made eggs I told you about my injuryPhew! Here’s hoping the next few weeks are more of the […]

Leave a Reply

