• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Eggs, Eggs, Eggs!

I hope you are warm and toasty wherever you are. While we haven’t gotten buckets of snow yet, it’s definitely sticking to the ground and shows no signs of stopping. I have to go into work, but at least I get to come home right after. All evening activities have been cancelled! To start my day off right, I had two egg whites and one full egg with Frank’s Red Hot. Yum! And speaking of eggs…..

Last week I had the great fortune of receiving a coupon from Foodbuzz for a free carton of Eggland’s Best eggs.

Since I’ve been trying to add a bit more protein to my diet, this coupon couldn’t have come at a better time! First up, I made a simple plate of scrambled eggs for the Huz and myself.

Verdict? Delicious! I don’t know if I could taste a big difference between these and other eggs, but I do know they were tasty. I also threw a few eggs into some leftover cheater pad thai and then decided to keep with the asian theme and made some 5-minute fried rice.

5-Minute High-Protein Fried Rice

1/2 c. cooked brown rice
2 cups frozen veggies (green beans, carrots, corn, peas)
1 egg, or 2-3 egg whites
1 tsp. canola oil or olive oil
1/2 tsp. tamari or nama shoyu
sriracha to taste

1. Heat oil over medium heat in non-stick saute pan. Add vegetables and saute until warm.

2. Stir in eggs and keep stirring until full scrambled and cooked.

3. Add rice, tamari and other flavors as desired. Heat through and enjoy!

Oh, and because I can’t get enough of the cuteness, feast your eyes on The Huz and our niece 🙂

Have a great Wednesday! I’ll be back tomorrow with a goal update and I’ll even have a few workouts to discuss!

PS Check out my updated blogroll!! I’m sure I left a few blogs off by mistake, but I hope you’ll enjoy some of the blogs I love reading every week!


16 Responses

  1. I love fried rice, so quick, easy and delicious!

  2. Looks great and I love that you use the whole egg not just the whites 🙂

  3. Your niece is just the cutest!!!

  4. Fried rice is my favorite go-to quick meal! And Frank’s…you just can’t go wrong! I always forget about having eggs for dinner, but recently I’ve been doing it more (they are even on the menu tonight!) and they are a great way to get a ton of protein. Plus — yum!!! Stay warm there =)

  5. Yumyum eggs… I wish my alarm would blare out “Wake up for eggs!” so I wouldn’t hit snooze and actually make myself something other than oatmeal (which I DO love, but still…) for breakfast…

    Miss Luna is looking most fetching! Though the pacifier position makes me think this is a pre-“waaaaah” pic.

  6. That is such a cute picture of your husband and neice!

  7. I never think to make fried rice – it looks so good. And your niece is adorable!!! So cute with your husband.

  8. That fried rice looks crazy good! Thanks for sharing!

    http://whitneydargle.wordpress.com

  9. Scrambled eggs are one of my most favorite foods. Yum.

  10. That stir fry looks great!

  11. I have been dying to redeem my Eggland coupon for precisely these reasons! I am ready for a seriouly egg breakfast and some major fried rice action. Leftover rice and frozen veggies are worth having around at all times if only for that reason! Now if I only I could find Eggland’s Best…?

  12. I’ve been eating so many eggs lately myself. It seems so comforting when its cold out. I’ve been eating for breakfast and dinner! YUM

  13. […] giveaway! I announced the winner and flew to Florida My beautiful cousin got married in Sarasota I made eggs I told you about my injuryPhew! Here’s hoping the next few weeks are more of the good and […]

Leave a Reply

