• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Drinking in the Morning

You all are the best a girl could ask for. For serious. I keep rereading all your comments from yesterday’s post and, in honor of being true to my voice, I’m going to write about what I’m inspired to write about!

The Huz always says, it’s after 12pm somewhere, so why not have a drink in the morning! Now, before you get worried, he does not actually drink in the morning. Anymore. That was college, which was many moons ago.

However, I have begun drinking in the morning. This is my new cocktail of choice:

Isn’t this lovely?

What’s in it, you ask?

Jay Robb Chocolate Protein Powder
7 ice cubes
8 oz. unsweetened vanilla soy milk
hefty sprinkle cinnamon

Simple, delectable nourishment for tired muscles after a 5 miler with Bodhi!

What’s your favorite cocktail?

PS Today is my half birthday, so what better way to celebrate than a morning martini, right? πŸ˜‰

24 Responses

  1. This looks great! I’m drinking my Green Monster right now and wish it was in a martini glass =)

  2. I love that you are drinking from a martini glass…adorable!

  3. Mmm, I love Jay Robb chocolate protein shakes. Sometimes I add mini chocolate chips – tastes like dessert!

  4. what a beautiful glass! was it a registry gift?? πŸ˜‰

    happy half birthday!

  5. Is kombucha a cocktail? haha

  6. Who is this Jay Rob character and where can I find his magical protein powder?

    I don’t drink anymore, but my favorite “Mocktail” is kombucha in a champagne class. When at a bar, seltzer and lime.

    • Jay Robb makes the most fantastic protein powder I’ve tried yet! (I’ve actually taken on a little project over the past few weeks of trying lots of different ones to find my favorites)

      http://www.jayrobb.com/

      I think you can find packets of the protein at most health food stores, but I know I’ve seen them at Health Nuts on 64th and 2nd and at A Matter of Health on 77th and 1st.

      Enjoy!

  7. 1 Cup Frozen Berries
    2 scoops of Recoverite
    1/3 Cup of Flax Seed
    3 Tbs. of Yogurt
    2 Tbs. of Honey
    2 Cups of Mile/Soy Milk

    I love this one. I have it almost every morning for a recovery drink after a ride/run.

  8. Yum yum! I love putting protein smoothies in pretty glasses! Makes them so fun.

    Favorite cocktail is a dirty martini!

  9. Happy Half Birthday!!

    I love drinking out of fancy glasses like that. I don’t think I have a favorite cocktail – but yours looks fantastic. πŸ™‚

  10. I love to make freshly squeezed juice and put it in a martini glass.

    My favorite actual cocktail is probably vodka and soda with a splash of cranberry juice. I don’t like most mixed drinks. They’re either too sweet or too alcoholy.

  11. Well this particular cocktail is pretty much guaranteed to make you feel better than a boozey one so why not go for it? Before, during AND after 12pm. πŸ™‚

  12. My fave cocktail is ginger tea. Loosely translated, I think this means I’m a giant loser.

  13. […] 3. I ran the race after a tough week of workouts; the first in quite a long time. I think several factors, including better stretching, chiro appointments, and better rest, have helped post-run recovery tremendously. I’ve also been consuming much more protein, but you probably guessed that from my cocktail […]

Leave a Reply

