• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Wintry Mix

I hope, wherever you are, you’re having nicer weather than we’re having here in Manhattan! I looked out the window and saw the very definition of wintery mix: thick, wet snowflakes falling swiftly over a backdrop of freezing rain.

Kinda makes me want to curl back up in bed, but I’m going to power through. I’m keeping my spirits up in spite of the weather with a few things that make me happy.

A new book

My summer gym bag (hey, no reason I can’t pretend it’s 75* and sunny!)

My rain boots

The stats from yesterday’s run:

Distance: 4 miles
Time: 33:20
Pace/mile: 8:20

There’s my pace! I knew it was in there somewhere! In order to PR in a half marathon this year, I need to run the entire race under 8:37, so I’m trying to improve my short distance time before I start packing on the miles. Saturday’s Run for Haiti was a good test run, and I pushed much harder on the treadmill yesterday. I alternated my pace between 6.8 and 7.4 the entire time, allowing a bit of the natural pace adjustment that always happens during a race. I was definitely tired by the end, but so happy!

Do you prefer polka dots or plaid? I recognize this is a totally random question, but I just can’t describe how much joy I find in my polka dot galoshes! πŸ™‚


31 Responses

  1. I think I’m going to have to break out a few bright, summery items of clothing, just to get me through this weather! We were surprised with the amount of snowfall here, too! Blah…

    Good job on the pace!

    And I like polka dots better… so much more fun!

  2. we have the same boots! sexy.

  3. Ohhhhh! I love that gym bag!!!! Where did you find THAT?!!!!!

    • Thank you! I got it at Nike this summer, thanks to a giftcard from some awesome friends. They probably figured I’d be buying running gear, but how can a girl pass up a cute bag?

  4. Polka dots all the way! I wore waaaay too much plaid back in my teenage grunge days πŸ™‚

    Way to pace!

  5. Its pouring up here in Boston, so I feel your pain! I can’t choose between those two patterns (love them both!) but it reminds me of that “Polka dots, checks, and strips” kids song from the early 90s! Remember that?!

  6. CUTE! I love my rain boots too…mine are solid bright red!!! πŸ™‚

  7. Oh ans good job on your run! Awesome pace! πŸ™‚

  8. I”m a polka dot girl, myself. Those boots are super cute.

  9. Love te polka dot boots! Too cute πŸ™‚

  10. We’re about to get that same weather here tonight and tomorrow 😦 Come on spring!!!

  11. I LOVE those boots! And that gym bag! Cute purchases! πŸ™‚

    While it’s not slushy/snowy here in Minneapolis (at the moment, anyway), it is freakin’ COLD. I’m so ready for Spring!

    Personally, I think there is a time & a place for both polka dots & plaid – but if I had to choose one, I’d say polka dots! Those boots just wouldn’t be as cute in plaid. πŸ˜‰

    • thank you thank you!

      i agree, there’s a time and place for almost every print. perhaps i lean more toward polka dots b/c my alma mater’s mascot was, for far too long, TARTAN. that’s right, we didn’t have an animal, we had a print.

  12. Such cute boots!

  13. Good work on that pace!! Congrats. πŸ™‚

    Also, it’s really hard for me to pick an answer to your question! I have an obsession with all things black and white…so your black and white polka dot boots are right up my ally…but I also love black and white plaid SO much. I think if it was any other color combo, I’d have to go with plaid. But the black and white polka dots win. Did I just make any sense?

  14. awww looooveee the PolkaDots!! wayyy cuter than plaid! I am also diggin your supa cute summer-gym bag! I am completely ready for the HEAT! Can’t wait to hear your review of this book!! xoxo!

    • Bring on the warm weather!! I keep hoping I’ll wake up in the morning to birds chirping and a warm breeze coming through my window. Sadly, the breeze still makes my teeth chatter.

  15. Your galoshes are too cute! Very you. I like Katherine in polka dots. My galoshes have weird pink swirly acid trippy patterns on them. Now wondering if I look as good in acid trippyness as you do in polka dots…

    πŸ˜‰

  16. Those are the cutest rubber boots ever!! I totally prefer polka dots. I tried to get my brides maids to wear knee length black and white polka dot dresses for my wedding, and they were not sold on the idea. They wore plain black instead πŸ™‚

    • Nothin’ wrong with plain black….my bridesmaids wore the same! πŸ™‚ I fully support owning a cute knee length b/w polka dot dress though. Might need to keep an eye out for one now that you’ve given me the idea!

  17. Polka dots definitely!

Leave a Reply

