• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Pure Perfection

Normally I’d apologize for my blogging absence this weekend, but if you live anywhere in the vicinity of Manhattan, you certainly understand why I wasn’t near my computer at all for the past two days! I started Friday morning off before dawn on a run with Lindsey and Liz. Thanks for an awesome run, ladies, and thanks for the picture, Lindsey!

After work, I took Bodhi for a nice walk and hunkered down to do some cooking, my first real meal making all week. Tina inspired our meal and we thoroughly enjoyed two healthy servings of Real Simple’s Mac and Cheese with Cauliflower. Tina, you were right, this dish is filling! I really wanted to go back for seconds, but I was genuinely stuffed after one bowl full. Instead of having more pasta, I savored a square of this chocolate.

What a treat! I’ve never had chocolate that came with instructions before, but it definitely made a difference.

On Saturday, we ran about a million errands, some of which took us out to Brooklyn, where we met up with beautiful Diana! Together, we lusted after the bulk bins at Sahadi’s, savored spinach pies from Damascus, and then wandered to Perelandra. Diana has been to this store many times, but it was a first for me. If only I lived closer!

After an intense spring cleaning session, our littler trio regrouped at Blossom Cafe on 1st Ave., where we sipped prosecco and enjoyed a truly wonderful evening. Super credit goes to The Huz for suggesting we eat here. Thanks for the support and suggestion, babe! We ate everything family-style and continued our tasting at a diner down the block, where we shared carrot and chocolate mousse cake. Yum!

Sunday started a bit hazy, thanks to the prosecco, but I still jumped out of bed because I had yet another running date! Finally, after far FAR too long, Melissa and I got together for some miles in Central Park. With bright sun warming our faces, we trotted around the 4 mile look in the park while catching up. I must admit, when we got to our end point, I suggested we keep going just to have an excuse to keep gabbing. Melissa very responsibly suggested we head back east because we had a 12pm brunch date with these beautiful women at Candle Cafe! Around the table from front left after Lindsey, Lindsay, me, Dori, Ashley and Melissa.

Since it was almost 12:30 when we got settled and ordered, I was craving lunch food so I had the beet salad with half an avocado. Delicious, fresh, wonderful greens. Oh how I love you! Over our meals, we celebrated Dori’s upcoming half marathon (on her birthday, no less!), Ashley’s new apartment, and many other bits of good news. Thanks for a wonderful lunch date, ladies!

I spent my afternoon doing final clean-up and some reading and then we met my cousin and her beau at Jackson Hole for some fantastic burgers. Grace and I both had Sante Fe veggie burgers, which were loaded up with guacamole, raw onion and cheese. I had the traditional cheddar and Grace spiced hers up with goat cheese. I think the fact that we were still squealing about our food as we walked out at the end of the night tells you how much we liked our meals πŸ˜‰ I really loved seeing my cousin and hope we’ll get together later this week since she’s in town on spring break! Maybe I’ll sucker her into a mid-week run with me…

Well, this post has been long and eventful, but that’s exactly how my weekend felt. The sun is still shining, the breeze is still warm, and I’m off to start my week. Hope you had an awesome weekend and have a great Monday!

16 Responses

  1. What a fab weekend! The weather was great up here too =)

  2. Oh Vosges chocolate… I’ve heard such good things! We have one in Chicago and I still haven’t made my way there, yet… boooo!

  3. Sounds like a great weekend! The weather does make everything better πŸ™‚

  4. It was such a great weekend! I hope this weather sticks around. See you tonight for a nice run. πŸ™‚

  5. What a fabulous weekend, so full of bloggie meetups!

  6. What a fun weekend. I love seeing other blogger meetups.

  7. Running, Blossom, and Candle Cafe – oh my! Lots of good stuff going on this weekend – glad you were able to take advantage of the nice weather! Did you like Blossom??

  8. My company gives that Vosges chocolate bar as holiday gifts to our clients! That and other internationally-inspired flavors. Check out the Barcelona bar. πŸ™‚

    I don’t blame you for not blogging this weekend – you were totally on the go! Lots of good eats in there eh? So glad I got to share some with you. Thanks for hangin’ with me! Let’s not let it go too long til next time! πŸ˜€

  9. That chocolate looks amazing! And the meet-up sounds fantastic!

  10. I am so glad you had a fun weekend! It sounds PERFECT!!

  11. Looks like you paid homage to the glorious weather this weekend! It was great seeing the park so alive with people.

    Very nice call on Blossom Cafe! That place is incredible.

  12. I looove those bars! Thought it was too cute how they come with instructions. And yes, it really does make a difference:)
    Glad you had such a fab weekend with great weather, sweetie!

  13. Ahh, I wish it was warm here! Send some our way! Glad you got to enjoy it away from the computer. πŸ™‚

  14. Definitely got to get outside and enjoy the weather whenever you get the chance!

  15. […] This week has been a runner’s dream and I’ve tried to max out my enjoyment. Sunday was 4 miles with Melissa (plus 1 mile to meet her); I ran a quick 6 on Monday evening with Lindsey; and I met Liz for a fun […]

Leave a Reply

