• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Rice Oats

The perfect breakfast on a cold and rainy Saturday morning:

1/2 cup oats
1/2 cup vanilla pecan Amazake rice shake
2/3 cup water
1/2 scoop vanilla Jay Robb protein powder
Toppings: dried cranberries and raw walnuts

I don’t know if it was the protein powder or the rice shake, but this dish was incredibly light, almost flakey. Perfect when paired with a green tea from Starbucks, a good book, and my husband.

Hope you’re having a wonderful Saturday!


14 Responses

  1. I have to say, that looks awesome!

  2. Those look beautiful! They remind me of oats gone risotto.

  3. Looks delicious! Vanilla pecan is a great flavor ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Looks so good! I can never get my oatmeal pictures to look good! Happy Sunday girl! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Ok, definitely want to put Amazake in my oats now. Also want to put Amazake in anything else I can think of. Including my belly.

  6. Hmm what’s Amazake? I need to learn more about this

    • It’s delish! I had the vanilla pecan flavor, but I’ve heard the original flavor is also wonderful. It’s basically a rice milk shake that is super thick and very smooth. If you find it, enjoy!

  7. The cranberries make the oats look so jeweled–it makes me want to drop cranberries into everything I eat!

    • you and me both! i’ve been on a mega cranberry kick. in my oats, in my yogurt, and in the awesome wrap i just had for lunch at 11:30am b/c i couldn’t wait any longer to enjoy it ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Hmmm rice shake, I’ve never heard of it! Where do I find this? Whole Foods?? The oats look fantastic.

  9. Your oats look beauteous! I am going to miss you this week – sadness for no runs. Are you sure you don’t want to skip class on Saturday and enjoy part of my long run with me?!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. I love the cranberries on top:) I need to try me some Jay Robb protein powder!

Leave a Reply

