• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Yet Another Clue…

I promise to tell you what’s going on, but first I have to catch you up on the last 24 hours! You might remember my trip home to Pittsburgh over Thanksgiving. No? Well here’s the post. Remember now? Ok good. I had a really wonderful time catching up with high school friends at my reunion and, last night, I was fortunate to have dinner with two of them! Megan and Ed joined The Huz and me at Uva on the Upper East Side. Since yesterday was perfectly beautiful, every New Yorker in the city was out and about for dinner. Thankfully our friends arrived shortly before we did and were able to put us on the list so we only waited about 5 minutes for a table. I’d secretly been lusting after the airy patio seats in front of the restaurant, but the hostess turned toward the back. Just as I was resigning myself to a 4-top in the midst of the restaurant bustle, we passed through a doorway and out onto the back patio, complete with an ivy-laced trellis and twinkly lights. Perfection!

The leather-bound menu must have been 6-8 pages long (I lost count somewhere in the middle of the page-long cheese list!). Eventually, The Huz picked my dish for me and, of course, it did not disappoint. This is just another reason I know I married the right man: he always knows what I should order at a restaurant! We started with an antipasto platter and I enjoyed several olives, some sharp parmesan cheese and baby artichokes. With dinner, I sipped a rich Malbec and savored the bigoletti di barbabietole – red beet fingerling gnocchi in a Gorgonzola sauce with baby spinach and yellow grape tomatoes. This was incredible!! The sauce was rich, but delicate. I’d worried my dinner would smell like feet, as gorgonzola sometimes can. This was distinctly un-footlike. The gnocchi was soft and light, rather than like thicker gnocchi. The red color from the beets provided contrast with the wilted spinach and vibrant yellow tomatoes. In short, it was exquisite. Thanks so much for a lovely evening filled with great conversation and delicious food!!

This morning, I was up bright and early for another run with Lindsey and Liz. Henceforth, Lindsey will be known as Speedy LB. Liz and I ran with Lindsey for the first 9 miles and then she was off to finish another 8 on her own. Hope you had a great run Lindsey!!

Okay, I know I’m being a terrible tease, but the sunshine is calling me so you’ll just have to wait a little longer to find out my news… One more clue though:

Support

Thoughts?? πŸ˜‰

10 Responses

  1. Ah! You’re killin’ us!

    But it was sooo good to see you and S last night. I’m so glad we could catch up! Hope we can see you again soon.

  2. You are SO bad! πŸ™‚

  3. I have absolutely no idea! But I hope it’s something fun.

  4. πŸ˜€

    Um, you just let me know when you wanna go back to Uva so I can try that gnocchi.

  5. I don’t know…just tell us! πŸ˜‰

  6. Hmmm, I’m pretty stumped about what this news entails. Such an eclectic mix of hints! Looking forward to the big reveal…

  7. Ooh, good to know that Uva has a garden! Much better than a dark dining room on such a nice weekend πŸ™‚ That was a great run Saturday — see you tomorrow for another fun one!

  8. That dish sounds awesome. I love gnocchi.

    Can’t wait to find out what it is? Will you be wearing support hose πŸ˜‰

  9. […] did an excellent job of summarizing our meal, so I’ll point you to her post. Β She and I ordered the same pasta (pictured above), which was quite good. Β I’ll […]

Leave a Reply

