• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


The News

So much has happened in the past week. The Huz was laid out with a terrible cold most of the week so I took up residence in the living room. I would say I slept on an air mattress, but I really didn’t sleep much. I know I’ve mentioned evening activities once or twice before, but I’ve had to keep the details out of the blog world. Now, finally, though I can be honest with everyone, and it feels so good!

I’ve enrolled in massage therapy school! I started classes in January and have been taking anatomy, physiology and myology three nights each week. You might not know this, but I was originally a biology major in college. Sadly, the university I attended focused much more on research, rather than hands-on care, which was my passion. Now, I’m finally getting to take the classes I love and apply my knowledge directly to people. Speaking of working with people, I’m actually at the finish line for the NYC 1/2 Marathon right now and want to wish Ashley, Dori and Megan much luck! Hopefully I’ll see them all at the massage tent where I’m volunteering. Maybe I’ll get to fast-track them for an awesome post-run massage 😉

One of my teachers told me on Wednesday, “be specific about what you put out into the universe. Give it color, texture, scent, temperature. Feel it come to life in your mind and then watch it happen before your eyes.” When I started seeing my chiropractor in February for my can pain, I knew almost instantly that I wanted to work in the office some day. I even have my wish written in my datebook, and I’d wished about and imagined myself working there for weeks. My doctor and therapist had seen me studying and were hip to my coursework, but I could never have dreamed how quickly things were about to start moving.

Last week, I was contacted by the hiring manager at the office and, within 48 hours, I shook hands and accepted an offer of employment. I’ve been hired as a therapist! I’ll be working part-time in this truly incredible practice, doing patient intake and administering physiotherapy including ultrasound, interferential electrotherapy, cryotherapy and lumbar decompression traction. I’ll also gain invaluable exposure in an industry I’ve dreamed about for years.

Of course, this news was bittersweet. While I am thrilled to be pursuing my dreams in school, I’d never imagined I’d have such an opportunity so early in my education. I hadn’t pictured myself as a full-time student, working part-time jobs to make ends meet. Well, I guess you can’t know everything the universe is going to throw your way! Just one hour after accepting my new job offer, I resigned from the position I’ve maintained for the past 2.5 years. Oddly enough, it was almost exactly one year ago that I moved to the NY office and was welcomed with open arms by wonderful colleagues. Now I will spend the next two weeks wrapping up my projects, passing my responsibilities on, and wishing everyone well. I’ve learned so much about life, the law and myself during my tenure at the firm and I sincerely believe my experience there has prepared me for the challenges I’ll face in the future.

So there you have it. It’s all out in the open. I’m thrilled, excited, terrified and a teensy bit sad. I’m embarking on something completely new, casting off the straight-laced, predictable mask and putting on a new one. Thankfully, I know I don’t have to take this road alone. I have my soul mate, a man who has been so selflessly supportive it brings me to tears; my puppy, who will cuddle with me when I get scared; a family who loves and supports me unconditionally; and YOU!

I hope you’ll keep reading as I pursue this path and thank you so much for all your support!!

26 Responses

  1. WOW! This is such a huge and daring step! It sounds like it’s exactly the direction in which you’d like to go, though, so more power to you. Congratulations on making such a big decision!

    I can’t wait to read more about your journey! 🙂

    xo

    Lindsay

  2. I know I said it Saturday, but Congrats again!! So proud of you for making this happen – you get back what you put out there and this is soo well deserved. Can’t wait for our morning run tomorrow.

  3. Hooray! Congratulations! It was so great seeing you at the race today – I had literally crossed the finish line seconds beforehand!

    Some day I hope to join you in the world of non-law firm jobs. Le sigh… 🙂

  4. Ahhh!! So awesome! I’m so so happy for you girl 😀

  5. Congrats! So excited for this new stage of your life! I hope you rocked your race! Amelia ran it too!

    I hope I one day leave my crappy law firm job to pursue something I love. If you ever need anyone to practice on for school you let me know!

  6. I am so happy for you. I wish you the best of luck.

  7. Awesome! I am so proud of you for doing this!!! You are amazing! 🙂

  8. Again, congrats and hugs! You’ve taken an amazing step, and I’m so excited to hear more about it as you move forward. See you tomorrow!

  9. What an incredible career transformation, congratulations! I commend you for following a career fueled by what interests and inspires you, that takes courage and dedication.

  10. congrats! most awesome — I admire your conviction to plunge right in!

  11. Congrats! Follow your dreams! And don’t look back!

  12. Congratulations! What an amazing opportunity! I am so happy that you are following your passions!

  13. Congratulations! It sounds like you are really happy and excited about this – good luck!

    • Thanks Heather! Not gonna lie, I’ve definitely been thinking so much about the tough decisions you made when you opted to leave the world of law for your true passion. Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  14. […] The more they stay the same. Thank you all so much for your supportive comments on my news! I’m so nervous, but SO excited to pursue this new career and I can’t wait to write […]

  15. Amazing news!!! Congratulations. Your attitude reminds me a lot of this dating book I just read called Meeting Your Half Orange. It’s about the same thing, telling the universe what you want and only then will it happen.

    I got ultrasound done on my foot for my tendonitis! 🙂

    Good luck and can’t wait to hear more about the job! So sorry I missed you at the finish line. 😦

  16. Aaaaah, I loved reading this! I will keep your story in mind as I cast my own intentions out into the world. 😉

  17. that is so so amazing Katherine! I am so happy for you, I think your universe is going to change in a big way. hope the huz feels better!

  18. That’s totally awesome! Congrats!!!

  19. Way to go lady! it’s so inspiring to read about you taking on new challenges and doing what excites you. As for the nerves–anything worth doing will always make you think twice, and you are going to rock your new job 🙂

  20. Awesome! Such an exciting new opportunity. I can’t wait to read about everything. 🙂

Leave a Reply

