• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


No Brainer

Sometimes my meals just don’t satisfy me. Sometimes, say, on an idle Tuesday, I’m released from class early and I catch a scent from a restaurant on my walk home that instantly makes my stomach grumble and my mouth water. On such a Tuesday, I am likely to return home mysteriously famished, insatiable, and inclined to raid the cabinets.

No longer will I need The Huz to block the kitchen doorway. No longer do I need padlocks on the containers of trail mix. From this day forward, my appetite can be satisfied by a food that takes three shakes and three minutes.

No-Brainer Brown Bag Popcorn (serves 1-2)

1/3 c. organic popcorn kernels
1/4 tsp vegetable oil (optional)
pinch of salt
3 dashes of chili powder
Frank’s Red Hot (to taste)

Pour popcorn kernels into small brown bag (the type you’d use to pack a school lunch). Drizzle oil over kernels, shaking bag lightly to coat. Add salt and chili powder, shaking to coat. Fold top of bag over 3-4 times and microwave on high for 2.5-3 minutes, or until popping stops. Be prepared for bag to split open (mine did) and to fill a very large mixing bowl full of delicious, spicy popcorn that is sure to satisfy any snack monster. Dress with Frank’s for extra kick.

What seasoning do you like on popcorn?


16 Responses

  1. YUM!! I am like you…I don’t like my popcorn sweet. I like it to be salty and good! I haven’t ever thought to add hot sauce…brilliant idea! 🙂

  2. I love this make your own popcorn — so much healthier, and you can pick your flavor. I’ve also never had hot sauce with popcorn, but my stomach says “yes!”

  3. I need to try this for real now! I love popcorn but I always burn it when I make it in a big pot, and the pre-packaged microwave kind freaks me out. But yummm…. popcorn with cajun seasoning, made like this, would rock my world.

  4. I love this from-scratch recipe! I also love that it omits the chemically and carcinogen laced microwave popcorn bags. I think nutritional yeast on popcorn is pretty tasty!

  5. Pop corn = my favorite food. LITERALLY!!!
    Sara

  6. I love hot sauce on pop corn. So good!

  7. Mmm I love air popped popcorn. And I’m typically a sweet/dessert-like popcorn type of girl, but I can totally see chili powder and hot sauce working very nicely together!

  8. I always do it on the stovetop like my grandpa did. Never did it occur to me to try the microwave. Brilliance! I sprinkle Parmesan over it when done. Yum!

  9. Popcorn is always what I reach for when I feel snacky, too 🙂 My favorite toppings are Earth Balance, salt, and a little Splenda. I love the salty/sweet combo!

  10. I have an airpopper and I just love it. I pour Frank’s Hot Sauce all over my popcorn.

  11. nutritional yeast or dill

  12. this is only my FAVORITE snack ever! i think i’m honestly addicted. and you’re right – runners have big appetites! having a huge bowl of something to much on (especially while studying) sometimes just really hits the spot.

    my favorite toppings are just simple – butter and salt.

Leave a Reply

