• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Give Me A T(ea)!

I don’t know about you, but when I’m sick, I bring out the big guns to jump start my immune system. Last week I ended up with The Huz’s cold, much as I tried to avoid it. Realistically, I probably didn’t even have a chance. Sure, I was exercising and drinking lots of water. But I wasn’t sleeping enough, I was anxious about my big announcement, I had exams to study for, and an upcoming 15k (which I’ll recap this weekend, hopefully). Sure enough, just as The Huz turned the corner and started feeling better, I got knocked out. On my way down into the pit of snotty noses and sore throats, I rounded up the troops: zinc lozenges, Emergen-C, an extra-large green juice, and echinacea tea.

That last item wound up being the easiest to acquire since it came to me, as if inspired by some higher all-knowing power, by way of my mail box.

As my sinuses filled and my throat tightened, I opened the little envelope from Celestial Seasonings and out popped the cold and cough piece de resistance: wellness tea! Naturally, I went straight for the Echinacea Complete Care tea first.

It was really delicious. Subtly sweet, no sugar needed, and very soothing. I’d never had echinacea tea before (I usually go straight for the drops) but I really loved this and can imagine alternating it with green tea just to keep my immune system purring. I’ve always been a Sleepytime fan, so I’m incredibly thankful to have other delicious CS teas in my cabinet now. Hopefully I’ll be healthy for a while, but I’m sure I’ll find another excuse to try the other teas very soon.

What’s your favorite kind of tea?


8 Responses

  1. That sounds great. I’ll have to keep an eye out for the wellness tea!

  2. I love Earl Grey — its what my Mom drinks every morning!

  3. I don’t like tea….gasp I know!!!

  4. I love my Echinacea tea! I keep it in my desk at work – it opens up my sinuses like woah. sorry you are sick lady. At least it came after the 15k right? Can’t imagine running that with a cold – bleck.

    Happy last week btw!

  5. My fav is English tea.

  6. I love vanilla rooibos. Yum.

  7. I love rooibos tea (and all tea, for that matter-the stronger, the better) but my dream tea is Tazo Passion tea. It’s zesty and citrusy and not at all sweet, the perfect tea for me.

  8. I’m a big fan of Yogi detox tea. I’m not sure if it actually “detoxes” anything, but it has a great spicy flavor 🙂

Leave a Reply

