• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


First Day of the Rest of Your Life

Good morning, blog world!! The sun is shining and today is my first day without a full-time job since 2004. I left my office on Friday with so many thoughts running through my mind. What would I do about insurance? Would we be able to downsize our budget enough? Would I get tired of working in my new role?

Luckily, all these concerns were drowned out by a bigger thought: What should I pack for my weekend in the Hamptons??

The Huz and I drove out on Friday and spent the entire weekend working on the house (The Huz with his parents), studying (me) and regrouping in preparation for the weeks to come. On Sunday, The Huz’s mom and I woke up for a 6:30am sunrise Easter service on the beach. Even though it made me miss my church in Pittsburgh, it was just what I needed. We were all huddled under an overhang away from the mist and fog, but the sun was bright in my mind.

After the service, I took Bodhi for an hour-long walk around the neighborhood and along the beach to have my own quiet time. I got back to the house feeling so centered and ready to face whatever comes my way.

And I’m taking this whole new lifestyle by the horns! I woke up this morning and immediately started tackling our bedroom. We’re usually pretty good about keeping the living room tidy since it’s the first thing you see when you enter our apartment. The bedroom, on the other hand, can be hidden behind a closed door. The problem, though, is our desk is in the bedroom. The last thing I want (besides the bad sleep I always have in a cluttered bedroom!) is a workspace where I can’t focus. I’m too ashamed to take “before” pictures, but perhaps you’ll get a peek into our apartment when everything is sparkling and organized 😉

In the meantime, feast your eyes on the return of my morning oatmeal! I took a few minutes away from cleaning and mixed the following into my large Measure Up bowl.

1/2 c oats
1/4 c raisin and almond granola
dried cranberries

Heather, from Measure Up, which is actually based right here in New York, sent the two-bowl combo set to me a few weeks ago and I can’t get enough of these little bowls! I’ve really loved using them for pasta, trail mix and roasted chickpeas, all foods I’m prone to over eating. The small bowl has lines for 1/4, 1/2 and 3/4 cup and the large bowl delineates 1, 1.5 and 2 cups. I bet you can guess which foods are eaten from which bowls 😉

Alright, time to get back to cleaning. Have a wonderful Monday!!


7 Responses

  1. I’m unemployed too (just relocated to Florida to be with my fiance) and I’ve been cleaning a lot more, too. I worked two jobs before and never had the time or desire to clean, but it’s a priority (for now!)

  2. Congrats on being unemployed! Good luck on the first day of the rest of your life!

  3. Welcome to your new life! How exciting. Must feel a little weird right now, but you’ll probably develop a routine soon. And I bet Bodhi’s pretty happy for the company. 🙂

  4. YAY – congrats to the start of your new life! Sounds like it’s off to a great start. Goodluck with the organizing – we did a MASSIVE clean this weekend and it was both refreshing and exhausting! And I’m very jealous of your Hamptons get-a-way and beachside mass.

  5. i love my measure up bowls 🙂

  6. What a great way to start the rest of your life!! Like all things, it may take some getting used to, but just keep reminding yourself of why you chose it and it’ll all fall into place.

    Reading this makes me so excited about my “new life” countdown–19 days left of a dreadful office job before freedom and freelancery (and being the dog’s favorite owner once again)!

Leave a Reply

