• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Say You Love Crepes

This weekend in Boston has been fantastic. I know you can never go home again, but you can certainly go back to a place you lived and savor some time with wonderful friends. One of my dear friends from graduate school is getting married in two weeks so we headed up to Beantown after work on Friday to celebrate her bridal shower. We were so fortunate to be able to stay with two great friends, Kristen and HJ, in Cambridge and they have spoiled us beyond words! Saturday was chock full of activities including an 8-mile run around the Charles River, iced coffee, and the bridal shower. The lovely shower host made hummus and served fresh vegetables, strawberries, chocolate and mimosas. I felt a little dehydrated from the run so I only had about a mimosa and didn’t end up eating much. I also was having so much fun talking to old friends that I never thought about eating! We took some time for presents and Allison made a gorgeous bouquet from the trimmings.

After a quick hair and makeup check, we were off to dinner at Fugakyu. We started wtih edamame, shumai and gyoza. Still feeling parched, I guzzled green tea throughout dinner and was finally feeling better by the end of the meal. We ordered 10 rolls and were presented with a boat presentation!

Shipwreck:

For dessert, we took the blushing bride to Starbucks for her favorite treat, a grande dark roast, and then we headed back to Southie for a drink and to wait for the guys to join us. I had a cucumber collins at Franklin Cafe and it was delicious! The ingredients were Rain Cucumber-Lime vodka, simple syrup, lime juice, soda water and thinly sliced cucumber slices. I was so surprised by how refreshing and bright the drink was and how complementary the cucumber and lime flavors were.

After such a night out, I needed some beauty rest. Even though our hosts and The Huz woke up early, I snoozed until after 11! I perked up right away when Kristen said she was going to make crepes! She and HJ whipped up the most delicious crepes right in their own kitchen.

While Kristen flipped the first few crepes, HJ made a sauce with fresh strawberries.

I didn’t even think twice about having TWO crepes filled with strawberries and lemon curd. They were absolutely divine! The crepes were lightly crispy and the strawberries were cooked just enough to be warm while still holding their shape.

We also celebrated Kristen’s acceptance into graduate school with some champagne on their porch in the sun. Best wishes in your masters program, Kristen!

Stay tuned for the awesome dinner we had Sunday night and a final weekend roundup.

Hope you all enjoyed your weekends!

12 Responses

  1. Crepes plus champagne in the sun–my kind of morning! Glad you had a great weekend in Boston 🙂

  2. How fun!!! I want to “party” with you!! 🙂

  3. The sushi looks delish! Congrats to your friend!

  4. Love fugakyu! Glad you had fun in beantown 🙂

  5. Mmm you know I love me some crepes! Those look divine. I’ve never tried making them at home before, but this may have inspired me!

  6. Haha, I LOVE that scene in Talledega Nights!

    Your crepes look awesome!

  7. Fugakyu was my go-to sushi spot when I lived in Boston. I miss it!

  8. Wonderful photography.

    Looks like the perfect weekend! Your cucumber collins sounds fabulous!

  9. I do appreciate how you managed to avoid taking pictures of most of the dirty parts of the kitchen. Now people will think we’re actual grown ups.

Leave a Reply

