• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Return of the Green Monster

I’ve noticed an interesting shift in my food cravings in the past several weeks. Where once I lusted after hearty soups and stick-to-your-ribs entrees, I now yearn for fresh spring greens and crisp peaches. To honor the changing seasons, I’ve begun to reorganize my shelves a bit, storing oatmeal toppings toward the back, and bringing light, bright spices toward the front. I also found myself in the checkout line at the market last night with a bag of spinach, a bunch of bananas and greek yogurt (4/$5!). Do you know what this means?

The Green Monster is BACK!

This beer stein was packed with nutrients and I’m sure it’s going to keep me full for at least 4-5 hours, since I took a page from Caitlin’s GM book.

1/2 container Honey Chobani
3 large handfuls baby spinach
2/3 medium banana
1 T organic creamy Trader Joe’s peanut butter
1/4 c. whole rolled oats
1/2 cup water
4 ice cubes
Topping: sprinkle of raisin almond granola from Costco

Do you eat seasonally? What are you craving lately?


14 Responses

  1. YUM! Looks delicious! I haven’t ever tried the Green Monster…crazy huh?

  2. I’ve never tried a green monster! What would you recommend as the most simple/easiest to swallow for my first??

    • I bet you’d really like it! Angela has lots of examples on greenmonstermovement.com, but my favorite simple monster is:

      3 handfuls spinach 1 banana 1 spoonful almond or peanut butter almond milk and/or ice to taste and texture

      You can spruce it up with everything from fresh berries and yogurt to chia seeds or kale, but the recipe above is always my base.

      Enjoy!

  3. […] Kate from Runner, Wife, Life […]

  4. Now THAT is one goof looking gm!!!

  5. I’m actually surprised by my lack of cravings, specifically for meat. I’ve been eating more of a flexitarian diet since I moved in with my fiance and I don’t miss meat at all. I think it’s because I know the option exists if I want it; if I were full fledged vegetarian, I’d be tempted by the forbidden.

  6. loooove my green monsters!!

  7. the warm weather has me craving GMs too. yum. i love spring/summer produce πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

