• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Semi-Homemade Supper

After our luxuriously lazy afternoon, The Huz and I got back down to business in the kitchen. I bought a package of pumpkin spice ravioli several months ago at Agata & Valentina and we’d planned to save them for a weeknight meal, but neither of us wanted to go downstairs to the grocery store for different ingredients. Instead, we dusted the freezer burn off the ravioli packaging and made a fancy sauce to make it more of a semi-homemade meal, rather than a frozen dinner.

We also roasted three spicy turkey sausages and had a big salad with homemade dressing on the side.

The sauce was made of browned butter and dried sage. It was very simple, but tasted so indulgent and delicious. To recreate, just melt 1-2 T butter in a saucepan and keep heated on low-medium heat. Add two pinches of dried sage, or 7-8 fresh sage leaves. Simmer until butter is lightly browned and fragrant. Allow to cool slightly and pour over pasta or entree of choice. DEVOUR!

I’ve got a busy day today (working 7am-7pm) so I’ll try to check in later. Have a great Monday and GOOD LUCK to all the Boston Marathoners! I’ll be cheering extra loud for Aaron and Brenda today. Oh, and be sure to follow the Android v. iPhone race via RunKeeper. Aaron is running as the android and I adore the RunKeeper app. Have a great race!


15 Responses

  1. Looks good to me!! I’d eat with you!! 🙂

  2. Mmm, I think brown butter and sage sauce is my favorite thing ever. Those ravioli look delicious!

  3. Oh man you are keeping busy EVERYwhere. I demand we hang out soon. I must hear more about your new gig. You can bring the ravioli if you want.

  4. That dinner looks amazing – something you’d see in Real Simple. Very nice. I thought of you when I was running this morning and how much I miss our early morning runs. 7-7 is a very long day though – an early run on top of that schedule could quite possibly be hazardous to your health!

    P.S. – I’m having dinner at Caravan of Dreams again tonight and am nervous because I have to navigate my way there alone! Can you imagine how that’s going to go? :-/

  5. Definitely LOVE that meal. I heart ravioli and sausage, too much…? 🙂
    Sara

  6. Wouldn’t you two love to chuck it all (NYC, school,jobs, everything) and just become the live-in chefs for Dad and me? The next time you guys come to visit I think I’ll make you do all the cooking! 🙂

  7. ooooh that is one tasty looking dinner!

  8. That certainly does look decadent! What a fun way to make it more homemade! 🙂

  9. Oh my gosh, that meal looks amazing!!! I’m gonna file it in my brain for next week’s meal planning. Did you like the pumpkin spice ravioli? I love pumpkin but I’ve never had it in a savory dish, though after seeing this post I’m more inclined than ever to try it.

    • I really enjoyed it. The cool weather on Sunday definitely lent itself to an autumn-inspired dish though so maybe wait for a cool day to make this, rather than in 90* heat!

Leave a Reply

