• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Best Year Yet

I realized this morning that I’m less than 12 weeks away from my 29th birthday. This year has been full of changes and transitions. Some have been for the best, but not all. And some changes haven’t stuck. While I’ve learned a lot about diet and nutrition, my insecurities and tendencies stay with me like the 800-pound gorilla in the room.

With all the changes that have happened in the past month, I’ve noticed some of my old habits creeping back into my life. Restriction, mindless snacking, too much exercise, too little, etc. One thing I’ve learned this year is how to deal healthily with stress and how to recognize my own signals of stress. Instead of falling back into my old ways, I’m taking the next 11 weeks to prepare myself for my best year yet. I hope you’ll join me in my goals!

1. Maintain my food journal – This has been so critical for me in keeping perspective about my healthy (and unhealthy) food decisions.

2. Eat 3 meals and 2 snacks every day – I will make sure every single meal and snack is substantial enough to sustain me until the next time I eat. Eating meals that are too small only sets me up for disaster. I’ve been down that road before and I’m not going back. While I’m not going to track exact calories, I’m going to keep my meals in the 400-500 calorie ballpark and snacks around 200-250.

3. Load up on healthy fats and proteins. I’ve been sticking to my primarily vegetarian diet and felt great, but I plan to up my intake of good fats and proteins to make sure I’m being satisfied by my meals. Carb-heavy meals make me crave carbs and I tend to reach for cereal, chips and candy when that happens. I’m thinking you’ll see a lot of my salsa-mole and probably several recipes from Gena!

4. Exercise 4-6 days/week. I’m not going to force myself to do any specific exercise, but I’m going to do something most days of the week. Sometimes, I’ll just walk to and from work. Other times, I’ll go for a run or take yoga or do an exercise DVD.

I realize none of these goals are particularly lofty, but I think it’s important to put these out into the world. My intention is to reach for these goals every day between now and my birthday and to celebrate the beginning of my 29th year with glowing skin, a healthy body and a clear mind!

What was your favorite year so far?

12 Responses

  1. My all time favorite year? Wow…that is a hard one. I don’t think I could pick just one. I associate certain years with certain accomplishments. Like I loved 1999 because I graduated high school and have some great memories, 2003 I graduated college, I liked 2006 because that was the year I got married, I liked 2009 because I ran my best half marathon ever….I don’t know…I like a lot of years for different reasons. Interesting question though….

  2. A few years ago I decided with a few of my friends that whatever year we were living was going to be our “hottest year ever.” So, last year was my best, and I’m trying my darndest to make this year even hotter. Half of it is making concrete goals, like you listed above, and the other half is just beating bad attitudes into submission. Still working on both!

    • I can’t believe it. We do the same thing!! One of my good friends and I always email each other on our birthdays and say “you know, i’ve heard X is the hottest year ever” and, thankfully, so far we’ve been right!

  3. I think my all-time favorite year was probably the year I got married. All the excitement building up and then going on a 2-week honeymoon afterwards was amazing!! Who knows – maybe this year could be a good year for me if I achieve a certain LOFTY goal (I’m pretty sure you know which one) and then have the best time in Ireland!! You just never know. I love the check-ins you do with yourself – I need to do some more of those…maybe after the marathon. haha.

    • Aww I’m sure Bill appreciates that 🙂 You’re going to have an incredible time in Ireland and you’re going to rock the marathon in a few weeks!

  4. I read somewhere a long time ago that everyone feels a certain age inside their own head. No matter what their real age they see the world and themselves from the perspective of a certain year in their lives – that’s the age they feel truly themselves. For me that has always been 27 (Do NOT ask me how long ago I actually was 27!). That was the year I got married and felt like I had “come into my own”. I felt mature enough to have taken the big step to get married and young enough to still see a long life full of possibilities stretching ahead of me. And since I feel 27 inside my head still, I still see myself and the world the same way. I feel grounded and free to grow into all the possibilities that are still out there for me. Every year can be my best year because they’re all my 27th year! The calendar may say 60, but my mind will say 27 forever!

    • You always know how to make me smile, Mom! I’m seeing already how important it is to always see the world as a place full of possibilities and that it’s NEVER too late to try or learn something new. I wonder who I get that from 😉

  5. Best advice I can give you is to be patient. Life gets WAY better in your 30s. It’s not a lie. My best year was 2008. I had spend several years in my late 20s and early 30s trying to “find myself”. That statement now seems laughably pathetic, but that’s what happens when you finally have wisdom and are truly comfortable in your skin. I used to think I was there, but if you have to try so hard and state it with such conviction, then you definitely aren’t (the lady doth protest too much, as they say). Once you achieve that moment, it’s like exhaling. All of the pressure (most of which you didn’t even realize was building up) just goes away.

    I had several transitions and subsequent achievements in a row that made me feel so empowered. I finally figured out who I am (which seems silly not to know!) and that I can do it by myself. I don’t need to rely on anyone or, more importantly, prove anything to anyone (don’t spend time, money or energy trying to impress people you don’t know, and probably don’t even like). I honestly don’t give a sh%& what anyone thinks of me (I try to be a good person, of course, but I don’t let other people’s judgments and insecurities bug me in the least).

    That moment of empowerment isn’t about control or discipline (or lackthereof). It’s annoying to hear, but something will just happen to you one day. And you are present and aware enough of your life to be able to see it when it happens. When it clicks, you will just BE! That might be 29 for you, or it might be 33 or 35. But it will be the best year of your life. And the best part is that you get to take it with you for all the years to come.

  6. I like Katherine’s comment! I will definitely hope for my 30s to be better than the 20s, so that is encouraging. I just wrote a post about the changes I’ve faced in 2010 myself, which have seemed so hard so far, and yet now I’m realizing I’ve just been set up for good things to come. <– gross generalization

    I think your goals for the next 3 months sound fair. May you start off 29 with a bang!

  7. GREAT and healthy goals! I’m all for meals that are dense and offer satiety — and I think you’ll appreciate one of the posts I have planned for next week. Long live fats, long live calorie-adequate plates of food, long live balance 🙂

Leave a Reply

