• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Plyometrics and Motivation

Hope you’re having a wonderful Thursday! Today has started off wonderfully and I have high hopes for the rest of the day. Last night, The Huz and I celebrated our date-a-versary with a Cinco de Mayo- themed meal:

corn chips, salsa, homemade guacamole, homemade “refried” black beans, taco meat, labne and Tacate beer

We made the beans by just heating a can of black beans in a sauce pot and stirring occasionally. We added a few sprinkles of garlic powder and splashes of hot sauce too, but kept it simple. The meat was a pound of organic ground beef sauteed and seasoned with chili powder, garlic, Tobasco and cumin. We devoured everything while watching two awesome episodes of Dexter (season 1). I’m addicted to that show!

This morning, I took Bodhi for a mile-long walk and enjoyed another tasty breakfast. Very similar to yesterday’s breakfast, but I added a spoonful of mixed berry jam. Yum!

After letting everything digest a bit (and shopping for school clothes online), I did my day 2 Insanity workout. Ugh, this was so hard! So much jumping and so many explosive movements. I was seeing stars 2/3 of the way through this video. It was really tough to keep myself from getting discouraged. Since the videos are only 35-45 minutes long, when I have to stop to recover I feel like I’m cheating myself out of the workout. I swear to you, though, I needed those breaks! I’m just going to keep repeating “it wouldn’t be fun if it was easy from the start!” I’m actually thinking of doing another DVD this afternoon since I’ll have friends in town this weekend and a race on Sunday. I must truly be insane!

Do you prefer traditional strength training or plyometrics?

15 Responses

  1. I prefer not seeing stars and feeling like I want to upchuck my breakfast! Geez, girl, you’re not in the Marines. Do you HAVE to storm the beaches?:)

  2. Thanks for your review of Insanity! Everyone is going so nuts about them and I’ve wondered about how they really are. I think I would be like you and have to take a LOT of rest breaks. But you’ll have to take less and less as you keep going I’m sure. I don’t even have the balls to try it, so props to you!

  3. You rock for sticking with those insane workouts! I don’t know if I could do the same. I really appreciate your reviews because I really need to beef up my strength training. I’m content with running and yoga, but I know strength training is super important.

  4. I used to only be yoga, or yoga + cardio, but now I lift and I love it!

  5. plyo! which goes against everything I’ve been taught as a CPT; but it’s fun — and it works! train smarter not harder i say!

  6. Hmm I am torn between plyometrics and strength training. I prefer strength training, but plyometrics can do wonders. It’s just that it can seem a bit hard on my knees at times?

    • I agree, Lisa. I was hoping to put off buying new running shoes since I’ve dropped mileage, but I need the cushioning with all the plyo I’m doing! It’s definitely forcing me to focus on posture though, so I can better absorb the shock of all the jumping.

  7. Happy 10 year date anniversary! Wow that is a super long time.

    The insanity DVD workout sounds…well insane! We have a copy of P90X, but I’m not sure we have room in our apartment to do it fully. Our livingroom is small and I don’t want to half-a$$ it – you know? Is Insanity all over the place or can you do it in a small location? Post marathon I’m going to need some new exercise inspiration!

  8. I have recently broken up with cardio and started a relationship with strength training, and I love it! I’m doing the shred right now, and even after a few days I notice a difference with how I carry myself and how I feel in my own body, nothing like I got from running! I’ve heard that Insanity is..well..insane, but stick with it! It always hurts so much at the beginniing, but you will looove the results!

  9. Arg, plyometrics are the devilllll. Props to you for getting through it.

  10. Oooh I really like plyos! I took a weight lifting class in high school, instead of regular gym and we did a lot of different plyo work. I improved my vertical SO quickly..not that that’s important now, but back in my volleyball days it was nice 🙂 They’re a little more fun than weights in my opinion!

  11. You mean I don’t have to pay for expert advice like this anyeorm?!

Leave a Reply

