• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Recipe – Spicy Chipotle Guacamole

As I mentioned yesterday, having Diana over for dinner this weekend was a blast. However, it made me realize we’re still only about 85% moved into our apartment. We’ve been here for over a year now, but the corners we cut when we moved are starting to get on my nerves. For example, our bedside tables are still plastic rolling carts from Target, and we are using a large bookshelf as a dresser. We also have a terrible mish mash of lamps and I’m using a magnifying mirror as my bedside lamp. FYI, waking up and seeing yourself magnified 20x as soon as you open your eyes is NOT the best way to start your day. I’ve been shopping around online and trying to find some new apartment pieces and I think we might order some track lighting to install over the dining table and we’re eyeing a few more items from CSN Stores too. I actually have several reasons for wanting to work with CSN to finish our apartment. One of them is that I’m going to be reviewing a couple of products that will be showing up the blog soon. And these products may or may not be helpful next time I make this awesome guacamole!

Several weeks ago I tweeted that I was having a Gena-inspired dinner: a tub of guac with a side of guac. Without even realizing it, the tub I grabbed from Whole Foods on a class break was smoked chipotle guacamole and, I can’t lie, it blew my regular guac out of the water. Not to be outdone by a store-made version, I vowed to recreate it and take it up a notch.

Spicy Chipotle Guacamole (serves 3 hungry guac lovers, or 4-6 normal people)

3 ripe avocados
2 chipotle chilies in adobo sauce
3/4 large vidalia onion, finely chopped
1 ripe lemon
1/4 tsp cayenne
1 tsp Frank’s Red Hot
1 tsp garlic powder
salt and pepper to taste

1. Finely chop the onion and add lemon juice. Set aside for 10 minutes.

2. Finely chop chilies and add to onion and lemon. (The chilies are pretty soft, so “chop” is all relative)

3. Add cayenne, Frank’s and garlic powder, stirring to coat.

4. Slice and score avocados, saving pits, and add to onion. Mash and mix everything together.

5. Add salt and pepper to taste, and garnish with cilantro, if desired. (I’m not a big fan of cilantro, so I used a small handful as garnish only, but you could chop a larger bunch and mix into the guac.)

6. Serve immediately, or bury pits in guacamole, cover with plastic wrap and store in refrigerator.

Would you like one? Just make sure you follow it up with a slice of Diana’s no-bake, vegan pecan pie!

12 Responses

  1. Or you could just use 1 of Auntie MT & Uncle Charlie’s monster avocadoes and double all the other ingredients to make enough to feed 12!!:)

  2. Aaaah, such good stuff! Thank you for treating me, ma’am 🙂

  3. I just read about how great peppers and chili seasoning are for your appetite and health. I don’t know if I have the patience to fulfill an entire guac recipe but this definitely inspires some creative single-serve mixing for me. thanks! (PS: the blue corn chip adds great color contrast- yum)

  4. Oh yum…that looks fantastic! A definite to try on this southern gal’s list!

  5. Swoons.

  6. i love guacamole in all varieties, and this one looks delectable.

  7. ooooh that looks so good – but I think that it would only feed two in our house 😉

  8. That guac looks and sounds amazing! Guac is kind of a secret addiction of mine, but since I’ve never made it – I don’t eat it much. And I’m the opposite as far as moving in goes – I need EVERYTHING to be set up and in its place ASAP. I will make myself crazy trying to get everything put away. It’s always exhausting when we move.

  9. SUCH a unique recipe!! I always love seeing new twists on classic recipes 🙂

  10. Oh my goodness, now I know what I’ll be doing with my avocados all summer long! It sounds awesome–can’t wait to try it.

  11. I made guac this weekend too! Yours looks SO greeeen! Delicious:)

  12. I know how you feel about never getting fully “moved in”. I just bought a table and chairs a month ago. I’ve been in my place almost a year now. It’s unnerving how you get used to the “temporary” situation… then after a while, eating every meal on a coffee table starts to become normal… and you just never buy a table you meant to buy in the first couple of weeks of moving… oops.

Leave a Reply

