• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Handstand Envy

The Huz and I love doing stuff together. Walking Bodhi. Making tasty dinners. Entertaining lovely blog friends. You know, stuff. For years I’ve dreamed that The Huz would adopt my love of running and we’d become one of those cute running couples. We’d “accidentally” coordinate our workout clothes and jog merrily through the park with our trusty canine companion. As we ran, we’d regale one another with stories from our day, imagine new adventures, and wax poetic about the awesomeness of running and how infinitely more awesome it is because we do it together.

Well, so far, I see no “his” and “her” race bibs in our future or cute “That runner you’re checking out? Yea, that’s my husband!” t-shirts. Sure, we’ll get out for a few miles here and there, but we’ve found a much better physical activity to enjoy together. Focus now. I’m talking about yoga, people!

That’s right. The Huz and I love taking yoga classes together. Even though we generally focus on our own practices during each class, I’ve been known to send a sideways glance in the direction of my darling, especially when we head to the wall to practice inversions. Last week, the instructor led us through several handstand preps. We walked our feet up the wall into an “L” shape and I was feeling pretty awesome. Then, we turned around and started kicking up toward the wall. Suddenly, my pride was feeling a little bruised. I wanted to be doing a handstand. Waaaah! Then, I looked over at The Huz and saw how close he was to getting his own handstand. I was so proud of HIM that I wasn’t even thinking of myself anymore!

Even though he teased me about being jealous of his “mad handstand skillz” we were both so proud of each other for committing to the best practice we could have. I might not be able to do a handstand, but I can totally be excited for my handsome husband who can. And maybe I’ll spend a few extra minutes practicing my own soon 😉

13 Responses

  1. So cute! You’ll be doing your own handstands before you know it- and he’ll be so proud of you too!!!

  2. I can completely empathize with that frist paragraph. I would LOVE to go running with my husband but he is not the running type! Ah…oh well! I am glad you guys have found something you do enjoy together!! 🙂 My husband does Yoga but I don’t…maybe I should start!

  3. oooh that is so cool that you do yoga together. My hubby actually started yoga a while ago due to an injury that prevented him from running so I suspect his yoga skills are LOADS better than mine now!

  4. Aww you two are the cutest! And by the way, my Hubby and I do run together sometimes and it’s never anything like you described above. It’s usually me yelling at him to slow down, us trying to run side-by-side on the promenade without mowing other people down, and there generally isn’t too much talking. 🙂

  5. My better half didn’t like how much time I spent away marathon training two summers ago so when I told her that I was going to run another one the following summer she decided to take the challenge with me so we could spend more time together during training. We would run together for the first 5 or so miles of each long run and then I would go off on my pace; it was fun to share all of the experiences or marathon training. Fast forward to marathon day and I was way more excited about her experience than mine and so impressed (and flattered) that she would do all of this just to spend more time with me.

    • So sweet!! Sounds like you two found a great balance where you could do something together, but still do your own thing. And I love what you said about marathon day. I’m sure she felt as loved as she obviously deserves to be!

  6. I found your blog yesterday and LOVE it!!

  7. My wife ran in school, when I started running after we go married it was something we really enjoyed. Then we started reproducing and the Drs say pregnant women shouldn’t run marathons. But what do they know, their just Doctors.

    • Bah! I’m with the Paula Radcliffes of the world who run straight through pregnancy, as long as there aren’t any health issues, of course!

  8. Awwww 🙂 Cute! It’s great that you do have an activity you enjoy doing together (yoga)! I’m single, but I imagine it must be nice to have one “personal” area in your life (running) that you don’t share with your partner! I go to yoga with my cousin a lot and it feels really nice to have someone there to be supportive who knows you outside of your yoga practice. We encourage each other!

    Happy weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

