• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Japan Day 4 Miler

Hello hello! I hope you’re enjoying your week! I’ve kept busy with two double shifts, which have been blessings in disguise. If you follow me on Twitter, you might have noticed that I remarked just before Sunday’s Japan Day 4 Mile race in Central Park that I hoped my ankle would hold up. I’m not entirely sure what’s going on, but it seems like one or two of the tendons between my ankle and heel may be strained. I’ve been icing and massaging, which helped a great deal, but I think I really just need some good old-fashioned rest. Rest which, now that the race is over, I’m perfectly happy to take.

The race, itself, was actually really nice. We got good shwag, no rain, and a clear course. I also liked starting up at the 102nd St traverse, instead of down at 68th St, like the last several races have done. I woke up with just enough time to throw my clothes and shoes on and jog over so I was nice and warm when the horn sounded. Of course, the 80* heat and 70% humidity helped too. Since I got there just before the race started, though, the corrals had already been collapsed so I spent the first mile doing more ducking and weaving than I’m used to. Around mile 2, though, it was smooth sailing. I stopped at every water stop, kept my stride short, and felt great when I crossed the finish line in 36:04, a 9:01/mile pace. Definitely not a PR, but a solid race given the heat and my hinky ankle!

Now to relax for a few weeks until the 5-miler at the end of this month. I think I might try to really race it, since I’ve never really pushed my pace for a 5 miler before!

What’s your favorite race distance? Do you like running in the heat?