• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


Hey There, Chick (Pea)!

Thanks to The Huz Dad’s green thumb, we brought wonderful produce back from the Hamptons on Sunday. Even though I’m probably the world’s worst gardener, I can still appreciate the healing quality of homegrown goodies. Before we left the solace of the cottage, I snuck into the garden to pick a few tomatoes. Waiting for me on the vine, peaking out from behind bright green leaves, were the sweetest, most delicious little tomatoes. I popped a few into my mouth as I picked, but I saved most for this twist on my chickpea salad. For lunch yesterday, I chopped and seeded a large handful of tomatoes, thinly sliced a few leaves from The Huz Dad’s basil plant, and cut up a large serving of his string beans. The only store bought ingredients for this delicious meal were the lovely little chickpeas, the sundried tomatoes, and the dressing. I consider this, proudly, a tribute to The Huz Dad.

Chickpea, String Bean and Tomato Salad (serves 1 to 2)

1 can chickpeas, rinsed thoroughly
1 large handful of string beans, sliced on an angle
8-10 cherry tomatoes
2-3 sundried tomatoes, diced
4 basil leaves, sliced thinly
1 T. good olive oil
1 capful red wine vinegar
1 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
salt and pepper to taste

IMG_4399.JPG

Do you grow any fruits or vegetables at home?

6 Responses

  1. Ummm. YUM!

  2. This looks delicious!

  3. That sounds DELISH. I have my leetle basil plant, but that’s about it! I’m scared to try growing anything else, esp. in NYC, but I dunno, the basil’s doing pretty well so maybe I will man up about it pretty soon!

  4. In my apartment, I just have a basil plant, which isn’t thriving as well as it did at my moms.

    At my mom’s house (I can’t wait to go home soon to stock up on fresh produce), she has three different types of grapes, apples, red pepper, green bell peppers, cucumbers, 2 types of squash, tomatoes, onions and during the spring – strawberries. Yum!

  5. I love simple salads like this!!! Thanks for the idea.

    And yes, I grew tomatoes and someone (my landlord me thinks) stole them.

Leave a comment