• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


TGIF

I know, not the most original post title, but it was how I felt all of yesterday! So without further ado:

Friday’s Food

8 Green Monster (1/3 English cucumber, 1/2 medium banana, 1 T. almond butter, 1/2 c. almond milk, 5 leaves curly kale, 1 small handful organic baby spinach, 3 ice cubes); oatmeal (scant 1/2 c. whole rolled oats, pinch of cinnamon, drizzle raw honey)

*Such a good breakfast! I think I preferred having the almond butter in my smoothie since it helps with the kale taste and I really like simple oatmeal. I suppose it’s all part of the process of finding what works for me, right?

IMG_3262

12 Choco Coco Bar

3 Amy’s Mattar Tofu, 1 fresh kiwi

*This is my FAVORITE Amy’s meal so far. I love the intense flavors and it keeps me full for a long time!

IMG_3264

4 Clif Zbar – Chocolate Chip

7 A few pieces of spicy dried mango (post workout snack!)

8 Gobo Restaurant:

Sake-jito

IMG_3269

Roti Kanai

IMG_3273

Sizzling Soy Platter, Soy Protein Mai Fan, Braised Tofu

IMG_3275

Vegan Chocolate Cake with Green Tea shavings (sorry no pictures – the cake was shy! – we devoured the whole thing too quickly!)

Exercise

Walked to and from work for 4 miles roundtrip

Gym: SHRED class at 5:30pm – This class was awesome! Lots of plyometrics, planks, squats = a very happy and tired Katherine! If you live near an Equinox, check this class out!

Musings/Restaurant Review

Today’s musings are a review of Gobo Restaurant, on 81st and 3rd Ave in NYC. First impression: beautiful interior, unobtrusive music, friendly waitstaff! The Huz and I were seated and given a chance to look over the extensive drink/wine menu. The Huz opted for a filtered sake (served with a piece of cucumber) and I had the sake-jito (the house specialty). Both drinks were absolutely divine! The cucumber really complimented the sake and made it very fresh and light. I couldn’t get over how tasty my drink was! Instead of the overpowering sweetness of the rum and sugar in a regular mojito, the sake-jito capitalized on the sweetness of the sake so it had a very clean taste. I loved it!

Since we’d never been to this restaurant before, we asked our server for recommendations and she was SO helpful. She went through each section of the menu and described different ingredients and dishes, and told us which ones were most popular. Being the indecisive people we always are, we ordered far too much food, but we did take leftovers home!

Each dish was different and delicious. The roti kanai had a wonderful curried taste and had tasty pieces of soy protein mixed with potatoes. Even The Huz said he liked it! The sizzling soy platter was probably my favorite dish. It had a great texture, the sauce was flavorful (but not heavy like lots of asian dishes I’ve had that are loaded with corn starch) and the veggies were still crispy. The tofu was also fantastic and it was a huge portion, even though it was listed on the “small plates” section of the menu! The Mai-Fan was a rice noodle dish with vegetables and it was a perfect, lighter dish to off-set the heavier protein dishes.

And of course, I couldn’t leave without trying a dessert. The vegan chocolate cake was AMAZING. I would love to know how they made it!! I could definitely tell it wasn’t a traditional chocolate cake but it was very sweet and the mousse-like filling was so smooth and creamy.

Even though I don’t think I’ll be able to convince The Huz to eat there all the time, he promised we can definitely go back and I can’t wait

If you live in, or visit NYC, you have to check Gobo out!

I’m heading out for a long run and to enjoy the beautiful weather so have a wonderful day! 🙂