• About Me

    Welcome to my site!

    I'm a 20-something, recently married, runner who recently moved to New York City. Questions? Email therunnerwife (at) gmail (dot) com!

  • Sponsors


What Has Chocolate, Zucchini and Goat Cheese?

The Huz is a good and decent man. He loves animals and his family and he’s been known to shed a tear or two during a good sports movie. Since the Huz is such a great guy, I really wanted to knock his socks off when he presented me with a culinary challenge. We had a 1lb tube of goat cheese languishing in the refrigerator, destined for no meal in particular, and when I asked what I could make for dinner one night, he said, “a goat cheese dessert.” Whether or not he was serious, I’ll never know. He certainly  won’t admit it if he’d been kidding because I truly outdid myself this time.

With the challenge laid down, I had a mere 20 minutes to find a recipe before needing to take Bodhi out for his evening constitutional. Not willing to wander the internets aimlessly, I went straight to one of my favorite baking blogs: Bakerella. And, as expected, Ms. Bakerella did not disappoint:

cupcake

Double Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes filled with Chocolate Ganache and Topped with Creamy Goat Cheese Frosting

from Bakerella, 10/19/08

Double Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes

1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup cocoa, natural unsweetened
1 tsp baking powder
1 1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1 1/4 cups sugar
2 eggs, room temperature
1/4 cup oil
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup skim milk, room temperature (original recipe called for whole milk, but I only had skim on hand)
1 cup shredded zucchini
4 oz. Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate bar, chopped in chunks (original recipe called for Valrhona)

  1. Preheat oven to 350º F
  2. Line cupcake trays with 18 baking cups.
  3. Stir together flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt with a wire whisk. Set aside.
  4. Cream butter with a mixer in a large bowl. Add sugar, eggs, oil and vanilla one at a time, mixing well with each addition.
  5. Add the flour mixture to the sugar mixture in three additions, alternating with the milk in two additions (flour, milk, flour, milk, flour)
  6. Stir in the zucchini and chocolate chunks until combined.
  7. Fill baking cups 2/3 full and place in oven immediately.

8. Bake for 15-18 minutes.

IMG_4585

Creamy Goat Cheese Frosting

5 oz. goat cheese (original recipe called for Ile de France brand goat cheese)
3 oz. cream cheese, room temperature
3 cups confectioner’s sugar, room temperature
1/2 tsp vanilla

  1. Sift sugar and set aside.
  2. Beat the goat cheese, cream cheese and vanilla in a large mixing bowl until creamy.
  3. Gradually add the sugar, mixing and scraping down the sides of the mixing bowl in between additions.

Chocolate Ganache

2 oz. Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate bar, chopped in chunks
1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
3/4 cup confectioners sugar

  1. Place chocolate and whipping cream in the microwave. Heat in 30 second intervals, stirring in between until melted. Blend thoroughly.
  2. Add sugar and stir until thoroughly combined.
  3. Pour ganache into a small plastic squeeze bottle or cake decorating bag with metal tip.

To assemble:

  • Insert opening of squeeze bottle or decorating bag halfway into cupcake center and squeeze ganache until you see it start to surface.

IMG_4586

  • Then, spread creamy goat cheese frosting on top with a knife or small offset spatula.
  • Use any leftover semi-sweet chocolate pieces to sprinkle on top of cupcakes.

IMG_4591

IMG_4588

The only words The Huz could offer when he tasted these cupcakes were “Mmmmm” and “Oooh” so I think it’s safe to say he enjoyed them. I hope you do too. And thanks again to Bakerella (the Huz thanks you too!)!!

14 Responses

  1. Wow, who the heck would have known you could use goat cheese in a dessert?! I will trust your Huz’s moans of delight and try to make these next time I have a hunk of goat cheese hanging in the fridge. Very fun and interesting! Thanks!

  2. Scrumptious recipe!

  3. OMG!! Chocolate ganache and cheese. How could you go wrong? I’m sure your Dad would be incoherent with delight. Possible repeat during your Thanksgiving visit?

  4. Goat cheese frosting?! What?! Must have in my life!!

  5. That’s skill.. 20 minutes to throw together goat cheese dessert. And it looks fabulous too!

  6. Goat cheese in this dessert definitely gets my attention! I bet it really adds to the creaminess. YUM! I am bookmarking these!

  7. Whaaaaaaaaaaat

    You are out of control. Does FedEx offer delivery to my mouth?

  8. Goat cheese frosting!? Just…wow.

  9. I’ve died and gone to goat cheese heaven. These remind me of the delicous Zucchini bread my grandma used to make. I’m heading her way for Thanksgiving. I will be sure to get the recipe and accompany it with this frosting. Thanks prettylady. Looking forward to more delicous posts.

Leave a comment